Art

The Smithsonian Open Access collection covers over 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from their iconic collections. This includes art images, pictures of scientific samples, images of animals, architectural drawings, scientific illustrations, 3D models, and textiles - all available to use under a Creative Commons Zero license. This license means that the content can not only be used but also transformed and shared without having to ask permission from the Smithsonian.

This platform allows you to search over 600 million images from museums, galleries and other organisations (such as NASA). Content covered includes artworks, photographs and scientific images which are shared under Creative Commons licenses for improved open access to images for potential re-use or adaptation for assignments or course resources, with some content cleared for commercial use. If using images for a course, displaying publicly, or in a published work, take particular care when using photographs of an artwork not directly provided by the official holding institution as this could potentially breach copyright. Openverse was formerly known as the Creative Commons Database.

This resource is a collaboration between Google and some of the world's most acclaimed and diverse art institutions. Over 40,000 high-resolution images of works ranging from oil on canvas to sculpture and furniture. Over 40 countries represented.

Search for pictures of Australia's past and present including photographs, objects, maps and works of art.

Over 100,000 searchable images free for use in art education. Includes design archives such as the Design Council and London College of Fashion.