Key databases
Databases with good coverage of Media Arts topics:
- Art Full Text A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world plus provides full-text coverage for selected periodicals. Also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) ABM provides information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards. It contains full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews.
- Art Restrospective
Retrospective provides citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. The database cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world. - DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
DAAI is an international index to design & craft journals, containing nearly 120,000 annotated references from more than 450 design & craft journals published between 1973 and 2001. - Media Art Histories Archive
This digital repository is created to allow scholars researching the Histories of Art, Science and Technology to self archive their works on the internet in full or partial text format. All copyrights remain with the author and/or their publisher. - Film Indexes Online
Film Indexes Online provides international coverage of around 118,000 films & 685,000 film personalities from over 170 countries. Content includes coverage of international film awards & prizes as well as searchable plot summaries, full cast & crew lists. - ACM Digital Library This database provides bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, & full text articles for articles published in Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) periodicals since 1985. Full text not yet available for articles published before 1991.
- Computer Index Australasia: CIA
CIA indexes a range of popular journals and general interest computing and communications periodicals relevant to the home user and to secondary and tertiary students. Also included are relevant items from major Australian daily newspapers. 1995 + - Database of Virtual Art
The Database of Virtual Art documents the rapidly evolving field of digital installation art.
Related Media Arts databases
Further resources with important Media Arts contents:
- Expanded Academic ASAP From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images.
- Academic Research Library Academic Research Library provides international information in the social sciences and the humanities with some content in science and technology.
- Proquest Science Journals This database provides access and searching options for the full text and images of leading journals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications and transportation.
- Scopus An abstract & citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, & seamless links to full text articles and other resources.
- Web of Science
A multidisciplinary scholarly database that indexes top ranking journals in every discipline. . It has a very important function as a citation database, to trace citations, reviews etc. of a particular work, or author's work, and to find related articles.
Journals
- Leonardo
Print + Online - Digital creativity
Print + Online - Journal of popular film and television
Online only - Canadian Journal of film studies
Online only - Camera Obscura
Print + Online - Aperture
Print + Online - Afterimage
Print + Online - Computer Music Print only
- Computer Music Journal Print + online
- Future music Print only
- Animation magazine Online only
- Computer animation and virtual worlds Online only
- Vectors Journal of Culture and Technology in a Dynamic Vernacular Online only
Key websites
Search help
Need help searching databases?
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait