Key databases
- Urban Studies Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. - ScienceDirect
Full-text scientific, medical and technical journals based on journal titles from Elsevier. Good coverage of business subjects.
Index from 1823+
Selected journal titles full text from 1900+ and comprehensively full text from 1956+ - Scopus An abstract & citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, & seamless links to full text articles and other resources.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes over 1000 periodicals worldwide. Produced by the Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library, Columbia University. 1934+ with selective coverage back to 1741. - APAIS Fulltext: APAFT
Essential source for any Australian topic. Multidisciplinary coverage including Australian journals, newspapers, with emphasis on social sciences and humanities.
Full text 1995+
Index 1978+ - Australian Architecture Databases (ARCH)
Indexes Australian and New Zealand journals and other material covering the topics of architecture and building. 1980+ - Australian Bureau of Statistics
ABS provides a range of Australian statistics and census information. Full text from 1998.
Related databases
- Australian Heritage Bibliography
Indexes journals, unpublished reports, books and videos relating to Australia's natural and cultural environment; produced by the Australian Heritage Commission. 1987+ - EVA: Environmental Abstracts
EVA (formerly EPIC), produced by the EPA Victoria Library, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on the environment and related fields. 1987+ - Transport
Comprehensive source of international transportation and economic information. Combines:
- Transportation Research Information Services (US)
- International Transport Research Documentation (OECD)
- TRANSDOC (ECMT) - ATRI: Australian Transport Index
Documents indexed include all ARRB Group and Austroads publications. Coverage of other Australian & New Zealand publications is comprehensive; overseas publications are indexed more selectively. 1960+ - Sociological Abstracts
International coverage of sociology and sociological issues. 1974+ - Web of Science
The Web of Science delivers web-based access to the citation indexes: Science Citation Index 1945+, Social Sciences Citation Index 1956+, Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975+ - ProQuest Science Journals
A resource for the applied and general sciences. Provides access to leading journals in science and technology. 1986+ - ABI/INFORM Global
One of the most comprehensive business databases available, ABI/INFORM Global offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. 1923+ - Factiva Factiva provides full text access to global news and business information from more than 8000 international sources, including Australian newspapers such as the Sydney Morning Herald, The Australian and the Australian Financial Review.
- TVNews TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free- to-air networks. It is updated daily with stories appearing on evening news broadcasts generally available the next morning.
Search help
Need help searching databases?
Websites
- Planning Institute of Australia The Planning Institute of Australia is the peak body representing professions involved in planning Australia’s cities, towns, regions and places.
- Sustainable Sydney 2030 Includes reports and documents that can be downloaded.
- CSIRO's Urban Planning page Includes overviews, news, science, business, multimedia and publications sections.
- Academic Earth Thousands of video lectures from the world's top scholars on a variety of topics including history and political science.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait