Key databases
- Applied Science & Technology Full Text Indexes articles, product evaluations, and book reviews. The database includes trade and industrial publications, journals of professional and learned societies, and specialized subject periodicals.
- Biological Abstracts
Encompasses the field of life sciences and provides coverage of the world’s published biological & biomedical research. - BioMed Central BioMed Central is an open access publisher of peer-reviewed biomedical research. BMC publishes a wide variety of journals, both generalist and specialist, in biological sciences and medicine. The journals can be searched as a collection or individually.
- CAB Abstracts Covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources.
- Water Resources Abstracts
Provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. - Web of Science
The Web of Science delivers web-based access to the citation indexes Complete coverage is now provided. - Scopus
An abstract & citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, & seamless links to full text articles and other resources. - Expanded Academic Covers a broad range of disciplines from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Contains indexing and full text resources of core journals in areas such as nature, environment and behavior, bioscience and climatic change.
Australian databases
- ABOA
Australian Bibliography of Agriculture (ABOA), produced by Infoscan Pty Ltd, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material. 1975+ - AHB
Australian Heritage Bibliography (AHB) database, produced by the Australian Heritage Commission, indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. 1987+ - ANR Index: Agriculture and Natural Resources Index An index to the literature of agriculture and the food industry in Australia - includes information on fisheries, ecology, conservation and animal health. 2000+
- ANR Index Archive: Agriculture and Natural Resources Index An archive of literature from the ANR database. 1975-2000
- ANR Research: Agriculture and Natural Resources Research A database that describes current and recently completed research projects across the agriculture and natural resources areas including sustainability, ecology and animal health. 2000+
- ANR Research Archive: Agriculture and Natural Resources Research An archive of completed research from the ANR-Research database. 1984+
- ARRIP
Australian Rural Research In Progress (ARRIP) database, produced by Infoscan Pty Ltd, is a research in progress database that covers current and recently completed research and development projects. 1984+ - CARRP
Completed Australian Rural Research Projects (CARRP), produced by Infoscan Pty Ltd, is a research database that contains completed and archived research and development projects from the ARRIP database. 1984+ - VPI&E Catalogue: Victorian Primary Industries and Environment (Library) Catalogue
Previously known as ELIXIR, this bibliographic database indexes and abstracts books, reports, theses, video recordings, manuscripts and pictorial matter in departmental libraries and regional collections. 1990+ - Threatened Species in Australia: A Select Bibliography: ENDANGER
ENDANGER is a bibliographic database that indexes published and unpublished material on Australian threatened flora and fauna and related topics. 1960+ - EVA
Environmental Abstracts (EVA) database is produced by the EPA Victoria Library. It is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on the environment and related fields. 1990+ - REEF: Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Province Database Indexes articles on marine biology, coral reef ecology , oceanography and marine park management
- SAGE
Science and Geography Education (SAGE) database indexes popular journals on a broad range of subjects. Most journals indexed are Australian. 1990+ - STREAMLINE
Australia's Natural Resources Database (STREAMLINE) is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of natural resource management. 1990+
Search help
Need help searching databases?
Definitions and concepts
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences Comprehensive reference work for information in the biological sciences.
Useful links
- ABS Themes | Environment & Energy Key Australian Bureau of Statistics Environment Statistics and related publications
- DEWHA | Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts DEWHA develops and implements national policy, programs and legislation to protect and conserve Australia's natural environment and cultural heritage. Important source of environmental information in Australia.
- Geoscience Australia Australia's national agency for geoscience research and geospatial information.
- SoE | State of the environment reporting Independent Committee appointed by the Minister for the Environment & Heritage to establish the environment & sustainability strategic direction in Australia. National and State / Territory SoE reports are available.
- Year Book Australia, 2008
Principal reference work produced by the Australian Bureau of Statistics. Includes sections on the Geography of Australia, Australia's climate, Temperature, Geohazards and their impact, Environment, Water, Land and Air, Forestry and Fishing.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait