Key databases
- APAIS-Health Australian Public Affairs Information Service - Health covers health and medicine in Australia and in particular the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. Clinical articles are not indexed for APAIS-Health. This database is a subset of
- CINAHL CINAHL is the definitive reference tool covering the English language journal literature for nursing and allied health disciplines
- EMBASE
This major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexes international journals in the following relevant fields: drug research, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, and public health. 1980+ - Medline MEDLINE is widely recognised as the premier source for bibliographic & abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources. 1966+
- Applied Science & Technology Full Text Indexes articles, product evaluations, and book reviews. The database includes trade and industrial publications, journals of professional and learned societies, and specialized subject periodicals.
- MEDGE: Management and Environment Information
Indexes and abstracts articles on management issues for business and government from 1985 onwards. - Web of Science
The Web of Science delivers web-based access to the citation indexes Complete coverage is now provided. - Scopus
An abstract & citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, & seamless links to full text articles and other resources. - Health and Safety Science Abstracts National Social Health Statistical Data Library from the Australian Government Department of Health & Ageing. Contains comprehensive population health related statistical databases from across the Australian health services sector. 1970+
- EVA Indexes and abstracts articles on the environment and related fields. Includes air pollution and quality, sustainable development, salinity, environmental protection and management, hazardous wastes, recycling, waste management and disposal. 1990+
- ChemID Plus This resource is useful when investigating chemicals that affect biological functions in humans and animals. It gives detailed information on every chemical discussed in Medline. Produced by the US National Library of Medicine.
e-books
- Handbook of environmental health Clay’s handbook of environmental health [electronic resource] / edited by W. H. Bassett.
- Health Impact Assessment Guidelines Aim to promote and enhance the incorporation of Health Impact Assessment (HIA) into environmental and planning impact assessment generally, thereby improving the consideration of health issues.
- Environmental Health Risk Assessment: Guidelines for assessing human health risks from environmental hazards This document provides a national approach to environmental health risk assessment. Presents a general environmental health risk assessment methodology applicable to the range of environmental health hazards.
Search help
Need help searching databases?
Definitions and concepts
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences Comprehensive reference work for information in the biological sciences.
Statistics
- Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS): Themes - Environment and Energy Key ABS Environment Statistics and related publications.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait