Databases
- Environment Complete Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law.
- APAFT: Australian Public Affairs Full Text Essential source for any Australian topic. Multidisciplinary coverage including Australian journals, newspapers, with emphasis on social sciences and humanities.
Full text 1995+
Index 1978+ - Expanded Academic From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers. 1980+
- SAGE
Science and Geography Education (SAGE) database indexes popular journals on a broad range of subjects. Most journals indexed are Australian. 1990+ - Factiva Full text access to global news and business information, including The Sydney Morning Herald, The Australian, The Australian Financial Review and The Age.
More newspaper resources are available on the Find newspapers page of this guide. - International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: IBSS
IBSS focuses mainly on the four core social science disciplines: anthropology, politics, economics and sociology. 1951+ - PAIS
Offers access to the international literature in public affairs, international relations and includes literature on treaties, diplomacy, international and regional organizations, international peace and security. 1972+ - Academic Research Library Extensive international coverage of information in the social sciences and humanities, also with content in science and technology.
- Business Source Premier Excellent source for many aspects of development, particularly business and economic.
- Omnifile Full Text Mega Extensive multidisciplinary coverage. Searches a range of important databases including Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text and Social Sciences Full Text.
- International Political Science Abstracts: IPSA The major resource for journal articles on political science. Good coverage of American political history and international relations. 1951+
- Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, including scholarly and peer reviewed journals. - AGIS Plus Text Indexes and abstracts articles on all aspects of law from Australian and New Zealand law journals, and selected journals from the U.S., U.K. and Canada. Includes administrative law, family law, human rights, legal aid.
Full text 1999+ - Philosopher's Index The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. 1940+
- EconLit Covers a wide range of economics-related literature, including both economic theory and application. Relevant to economic aspects of development and international development.
1969+ - Left Index Provides access to the diversity of literature on the left, with emphasis on political and cultural scholarship, and significant but obscure sources of news and ideas.
1982+
Websites
- Australian Conservation Foundation The Australian Conservation Foundation (ACF) works with the community, business and government to protect, restore and sustain our environment.
- Greenpeace Australia Pacific Greenpeace is an independent campaigning organisation that uses non-violent direct action to expose global environmental problems.
- Worldwatch Institute The Worldwatch Institute is an independent research organization recognized by opinion leaders around the world for its accessible, fact-based analysis of critical global issues.
- Centre for Policy Development The Centre for Policy Development is a public interest think tank dedicated to seeking out creative, viable ideas and innovative research to inject into Australia's policy debates.
- Focus on the Global South Focus on the Global South (Focus) is a non-governmental organisation that combines policy research, advocacy, activism and grassroots capacity building in order to generate critical analysis and encourage debates on national and international policies.
- Navdanya Navdanya started as a program of the Research Foundation for Science, Technology and Ecology (RFSTE), a participatory research initiative founded by Dr. Vandana Shiva, to provide direction and support to environmental activism.
Search help
Need help searching databases?
Journals
- Environment and Urbanisation Online
- Environment, development and sustainability Online
- Environmental Science & Policy Online
- Journal of Environmental Education Online
- The Environmentalist Print + Online
- The journal of environment & development Online
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait