Key media databases
- Communication & Mass Media Complete Incorporates CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. Broad coverage of media issues. Very useful for social and technical aspects of media.
- Communication Abstracts
Comprehensive source of information about communication related publications on a world wide scale. Covers communication related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources. 1977+ - History of Science,Technology and Medicine Indexes journals, chapters in books and reports. International coverage. 1970+
- Art Full Text International coverage of art periodicals. Includes many areas of media, including performance media.
- MLA International Bibliography Major international resource for language and literature. Includes coverage of rhetoric and transition from text to film and other media.
- Project Muse Full text multidisciplinary database produced by Johns Hopkins University. Good coverage of media.
- TVNews
TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from free to air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global Provides indexing and abstracting of 1,500 journal titles in business, economics and related disciplines. The full text is provided to about 750 of these journals.
- Expanded Academic ASAP Coverage of a wide range of academic journals, including a number in the area of media.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega Multidisciplinary with scholarly content. Note Peer Reviewed search option.
- APAFT: Australian Public Affairs Full Text Major index to journals and periodicals published in Australia.
- JSTOR Provides retrospective access to a range of journals (pre 1995+). Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals.
Subject specific databases
- Alternative Press Index Indexes journals outside the main academic stream.
- America: History and Life Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. A major index to Americana, including film and cultural traditions. 1964+
- AEI: Australian Education Index Index to published and unpublished material about all levels of education. Includes coverage of media education.
- British Humanities Index Includes coverage of Europe and Commonwealth countries.
- ERIC Major international resource for all aspects of education, including media education.
- Philosopher's Index Includes good coverage of ethics.
Newspaper databases
Need to find newspaper articles?
More resources are available on the Find newspapers page of this guide.
Search help
Need help searching databases?
Media reference
- Oxford Reference Online Online access to a large range of Oxford reference resources. Includes A Dictionary of Computing, A Dictionary of the Internet.
- Safari Tech Books Online Provides full text access to a selection of current titles in over 20 technical categories including Web Authoring, Windows Programming, Software Engineering, Java, Linux/Unix, Perl and XML. Powerful searching and browsing capability.
- The Cambridge history of English and American literature
Encyclopedia in 18 volumes.
Significant work of literary history and criticism. Contains essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama, history, theology and political writing.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait