Key theatre studies databases
- International bibliography of theatre and dance Sponsored by the American Society for Theatre Research, and the International Association of Libraries and Museums of the Performing Arts in cooperation with the International Federation for Theatre Research. International in coverage. 1982+
- MLA International Bibliography Product of the Modern Languages Association. Covers the world's literature from all time periods. 1981+
- Communication & Mass Media Complete Broad coverage of all media. Includes coverage of performance.
- Art Full Text International coverage of art periodicals. Includes areas of theatre such as, architecture, design, lighting, performance space etc. 1984+
- APAFT: Australian Public Affairs Full Text Essential source for any Australian topic. Multidisciplinary coverage including Australian journals, newspapers, with emphasis on social sciences and humanities.
Full text 1995+
Index 1978+ - Media Art Histories Archive
This digital repository is created to allow scholars researching the Histories of Art, Science and Technology to self archive their works on the internet in full or partial text format. All copyrights remain with the author and/or their publisher. - Theatre in Video
Contains more than 100 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 60 film documentaries, online in streaming video. This release contains 162 titles, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
Multidisciplinary databases
- Expanded Academic ASAP Database of over 1000 periodical titles. Good coverage of theatre and drama. 1980+
- Project Muse Provides access to over 40 Johns Hopkins University Press academic journals. Coverage includes theatre and other performing arts.
- Academic Research Library Full text resource to numerous topic areas, including theatre.
- Open J-Gate Open J-Gate is an electronic gateway to global journal literature in open access domain and provides access to millions of journal articles available online.
- JSTOR Provides retrospective full text access to a range of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals. 1800+
- Periodicals Archive Online Similar to JSTOR in providing full text access to older issues of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals. 18th Century+
- Factiva Full text coverage of a wide range of international newspapers, including the SMH, Australian Financial Review and The Australian. Good source for performance reviews.
Subject specific databases
- Alternative Press Index
Covers 250 alternative, radical and left wing publications, including many popular and academic publications not found indexed elsewhere. 1991+ - America: History & Life Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. A major index to Americana, including performing arts and cultural traditions. 1964+
- AUSTLIT Although primarily a database for Australian literature, includes coverage of plays and playwrights, adaptation of texts etc. 1970+
- Bibliography of Asian Studies Indexes Western language periodicals. Includes coverage of Asian theatre and performing arts traditions. 1971+
- British Humanities Index Includes coverage of Europe and Commonwealth countries.
- Historical Abstracts Covers world history from 1450 to the current century. Includes historical aspects of theatre. 1982+
For US history see America: History and Life - Music Index International coverage of all aspects of music, including musical theatre and the uses of music in theatre performances. Includes some coverage of stageing, lighting and design.
- Poole's index to periodical literature Indexes newspapers and journals from the 19th century.
Only in print at SREF050/8/(1-6) - PsycINFO Major international resource for psychology. Useful for topics such as audience response to performance and the psychology of performance, drama as therapy etc. 1967+
- Sociological Abstracts Major international index to the literature of sociology. Emphasis on cultural aspects and social contexts of theatre and drama. Coverage also of areas such as gay and lesbian theatre ; gender issues in theatre and feminist theatre. 1974+
- Women's studies international International resource covering all areas of women's studies, including theatre and performing arts. 1972+
Search help
Need help searching databases?
Theatre reference
- Oxford Reference Online Includes access to The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre, The Oxford Companion to English Literature, The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare and the Oxford Companion to American Theatre.
- Contemporary Literary Criticism
CLC critiques the works of novelists, poets and playwrights. Very good starting point for researching authors and their works, including film directors and screen writers.
(Use Literary Index to search for articles in CLC) - Literary Index
Literary Index is an index to the articles in CLC.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait