Key music databases
- Music Index Covers all aspects of Music and Music Education. 1979+
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Major international resource for research in Music and Music Education.
- Oxford Music Online An important resource which includes Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and The Oxford Companion to Music.
- ERIC Major international resource for all aspects of education. 1966+
- Classical Music Library
Classical music library is a streaming classical music service that enables listening and learning at library and home computers. - Naxos Music Library Similar to above.
- Music Australia MusicAustralia is an online service developed by the National Library of Australia and the National Film and Sound Archive. MusicAustralia helps you to find, access and navigate a rich store of information on Australian music, musicians, organisations and
- Opera in Video
Opera in Video will contain 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses. - Music Online Cross-search hundreds of thousands of audio tracks, scores, reference works, and thousands of hours of video across all Alexander Street Press music databases.
Multidisciplinary databases
- APAFT: Australian Public Affairs Full Text Major index to journals and periodicals published in Australia. 1978+
- Factiva Full text coverage of a wide range of international newspapers, including the SMH, Australian Financial Review and The Australian. Good source for performance reviews.
- Expanded Academic ASAP Coverage of a wide range of academic journals, including a number in the area of music. Good coverage of ethnomusicology. 1980+
- OmniFile Full Text Mega Includes coverage of the Social Sciences Index, The Humanities Index, Reader's Guide.
- JSTOR Provides retrospective full text access to a range of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals. 1800+
- Periodicals Archive Online Similar to JSTOR in providing full text access to older issues of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals.
- Project Muse Provides access to over 40 Johns Hopkins University Press academic journals. Coverage includes music.
Subject specific databases
- Alternative Press Index Indexes journals outside the main academic stream. Useful for information on World music. 1991+
- America: History & Life Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. A major index to Americana, including music and cultural traditions. 1964+
- Arts Hub
Arts Hub is the online home for Australian arts workers. It includes: Jobs Bulletin, online employment resource listing positions vacant and positions wanted, including job opportunities from the UK and USA. - A+ Education A+ indexes journal contents from 1978+ and offers full text from 2000+
- Bibliography of Asian Studies Indexes Western language periodicals. Includes coverage of Asian music and performing arts traditions. 1971+
- British Humanities Index Includes coverage of Europe and Commonwealth countries.
- Historical Abstracts Covers world history from 1450 to present. 1982+
For US history see America: History and Life - Communication & Mass Media Complete Broad coverage of media issues. Includes coverage of new media.
- PsycINFO Major international resource for research in psychology. Useful for topics such as psychology of music ; psychology of performance, and music as therapy.
- Sociological Abstracts Major international index to research literature in sociology. Includes coverage of ethnomusicology. 1974+
Search help
Need help searching databases?
Music reference
- Oxford Music Online Incorporates Grove Music Online, Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
- Oxford Reference Online Online access to a large range of Oxford reference resources. Includes Who's Who in Opera, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Opera.
Recommended links
- CHARM | AHRC Research Centre for the History and Analysis of Recorded Music CHARM was established to promote a musicology that better reflects the nature of music as experienced in the twentieth century and beyond. Provides a major online discography and a library of ex-copyright recordings.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait