Key film databases
- Film Indexes Online Film Indexes Online brings Film Index International (British Film Institute) and American Film Institute Catalog together in one site.
- Expanded Academic ASAP Good coverage of film. Includes film reviews. 1980+
- Film Literature Index Comprehensive international coverage of all aspects of film, including coverage of non-English speaking film traditions. Includes film reviews. Includes television and video production. No full text, but helps to identify a large number of references.
- MLA International Bibliography Product of the Modern Languages Association. Covers the world's literature from all time periods. Includes strong coverage of film, especially such areas as transition from literature to film, film as text and film directors. 1981+
- Rotten tomatoes This site collates in one place full text access to film and DVD reviews from all over the world, from a variety of sources including newspapers.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete One of the Ebsco databases. Broad coverage of media issues. Very useful for social and technical aspects of film.
Multidisciplinary databases
- OmniFile Full Text Mega Includes coverage of the Social Sciences Index, The Humanities Index and Reader's Guide. Includes reviews.
- APAFT: Australian Public Affairs Full Text Major index to journals and periodicals published in Australia. 1978+
- Factiva Full text coverage of a wide range of international newspapers, including the SMH, Australian Financial Review and The Australian. Good source for reviews.
- JSTOR Provides retrospective full text access to a range of journals to the nineteenth century. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals. 1800+
- Periodicals Archive Online Similar to JSTOR in providing full text access to older issues of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals. Some journals dating back to 1770. Emphasis on British resources.
- Project Muse Provides access to over 40 Johns Hopkins University Press academic journals. Coverage includes film and other arts.
Subject specific databases
- Alternative Press Index Useful for coverage of experimental film and areas such as gay and lesbian film and film traditions in non-English speaking cultures. 1991+
- America: History and Life Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. A major index to Americana, including film and cultural traditions. 1964+
- Art Full Text International coverage of art periodicals. Includes areas of film such as cinematography, design and mise-en-scene. 1984+
- Arts Hub
Arts Hub is the online home for Australian arts workers. It includes: Jobs Bulletin, online employment resource listing positions vacant and positions wanted, including job opportunities from the UK and USA. - AUSTLIT Although primarily a database for Australian literature, includes coverage of film making, film scripts, adaptation of texts. 1970+
- Bibliography of Asian Studies Indexes Western language periodicals. Includes coverage of Asian film industries and traditions. 1971+
- British Humanities Index Includes coverage of Europe and Commonwealth countries.
- Historical Abstracts Covers world history from 1450 to the current century. Includes historical and political aspects of film, especially areas such as film propaganda. 1982+
For US history see America: History and Life - Music Index Online International coverage of all aspects of music, including film music and the use of music in film. 1979+
- PsycINFO Scholarly content and the main resource for psychological research.
- Sociological Abstracts Major international index to the literature of sociology. Emphasis on cultural aspects and social contexts of film. Coverage also of areas such as gay and lesbian film ; gender issues in film and feminist film. 1974+
- Womens Studies International International resource covering all areas of women's studies, including film. 1972+
Search help
Need help searching databases?
Film reference
- Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film Comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history.
- Contemporary Literary Criticism
CLC critiques the works of novelists, poets and playwrights. Very good starting point for researching authors and their works, including film directors and screen writers.
(Use Literary Index to search for articles in CLC) - Literary Index
Literary Index is an index to the articles in CLC. - Google Directory > Film Links to a number of film glossaries & dictionaries.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait