Key databases
- MLA International Bibliography
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s - AUSTLIT
Provides authoritative information on creative and critical Australian literature works relating to more than 100,000 Australian authors and literary organisations. Its coverage spans 1780 to the present day. - Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts
LLBA abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. 1973+ - The Year's Work in English Studies
Qualitative narrative bibliographical review of scholarly work on English language and literatures written in English. Arranged by time period and includes literature in English published outside Britain. - Literary Index
Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale, including Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC). Combines & cross-references over 165,000 author names and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source. - Contemporary Literary Criticism CLC critiques the works of novelists, poets and playwrights. Very good starting point for researching authors and their works. Biographical information supplied.
(Use Literary Index to search for articles in CLC) - Shakespeare Collection The Shakespeare Collection brings together general reference data, full-text scholarly periodicals, reprinted criticism, primary source material and the full-text annotated works from The Arden Shakespeare.
- Literature Online (LION) Literature Online is a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 168 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
- C19: the Nineteenth Century Index
C19 Index is the bibliographic spine of 19th century research, providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives.
Related databases
- APAFT: Australian Public Affairs Full Text Essential source for any Australian topic. Multidisciplinary coverage including Australian journals, newspapers, with emphasis on social sciences and humanities.
Full text 1995+
Index 1978+ - Expanded Academic ASAP Provides access to a wide range of academic journals, including a number in the area of literature. 1980+
- OmniFile Full Text Mega Includes coverage of the Social Sciences Index, The Humanities Index and Reader's Guide.
- Project Muse Provides access to over 40 Johns Hopkins University Press academic journals. Coverage includes literature and drama.
- JSTOR Provides retrospective full text access to a range of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals. 1800+
- Scopus
An abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, with links to full text articles & other resources. - Periodicals Archive Online Similar to JSTOR in providing full text access to older issues of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals. British emphasis.
- Factiva Full text coverage of a wide range of international newspapers including Australian newspapers . Good source for book reviews.
Subject specific databases
- Alternative Press Index
Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change, alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. 1991+ - America: History & Life
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. 1964+ - British Humanities Index Good coverage of the humanities in Britain, Europe and Commonwealth countries.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete Broad coverage of all aspects of media. Includes coverage of text and genre.
- International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance Contains full text of 100 journals related to theatre and dance and full text of 50 books on related topics. Includes a significant number of English literature journals.
- Poole's index to periodical literature Indexes newspapers and journals from the 19th century.
Print only, available at SREF050/8 - The Wellesley index to Victorian periodicals, 1824-1900
Index to the authorship of articles, and a bibliography of articles written by each contributor, and using each pseudonym.
Print only, available at SREF052/82 - PsycINFO Major international resource for psychology. Includes psychology of language. 1967+
- Women's studies international Covers international literature on women's studies, feminism, family, employment and psychology.
1972+
Search help
Need help searching databases?
Definitions and concepts
- Oxford Reference Online
Includes:
The Oxford Companion to English Literature, The Concise Oxford Companion to American Literature, The Oxford Companion to American Literature, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms, The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare. - Oxford English Dictionary Online Contains the full text of the 20 volume hard cover dictionary. Over 60 million words describing 750,000 terms used in the English language in the last one thousand years. Includes about 2.4 million quotations.
- The Cambridge history of English and American literature
Encyclopedia in 18 volumes.
Significant work of literary history and criticism. Contains essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama, history, theology and political writing.
Journals
- Australian Literary Studies Print + online
- The Journal of Commonwealth literature Print + online
- Meanjin Print + online
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait