International databases
- ERIC
ERIC is the main resource for researchers of education. Subject specific, scholarly content, indexing the contents of education journals and ERIC Documents. 1966+ - ERIC | Education Resources Information Centre Website providing full text for content from the ERIC database, where available. The ERIC Collection indexes education journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed. 1966+
- Proquest Education Journals Covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics. 1991+
- PsycINFO
Scholarly content and the main resource for psychological research. 1800's+ - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Main resource for language and linguistics research: research in linguistics. Coverage includes Interpersonal Behavior and Communication, Learning Disabilities, Special Education. 1973+ - MLA International Bibliography Major resource for language studies. Includes extensive materials on learning and teaching such as teaching approaches, educational outcomes, special education. 1920's+
Australian databases
- A+ Education
Key Australian education database that provides access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on all aspects of education.
Index 1978+
Full text 2000+ - APAFT: Australian Public Affairs Full Text Essential source for any Australian topic. Multidisciplinary coverage including Australian journals, newspapers, with emphasis on social sciences and humanities. Includes indexing from 1978, with some full text coverage from 1995.
- AEI-ATSIS: Australian Education Index-Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset Provides access to the Australian literature in education and training relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. AEI-ATSIS is a subset of the AEI database.
- DELTAA: Database on English Language Teaching for Adults in Australasia Database on English Language Teaching for Adults in Australasia. Index 1985+
- Factiva Australian news and information including newspapers such as The Sydney Morning Herald, The Australian and The Australian Financial Review, plus news and business information from more than 8000 international sources.
Multidisciplinary databases
- OmniFile Full Text Mega Huge multidisciplinary database providing good coverage of education topics. Omnifile covers all six Wilson databases, including Education Full Text, Humanities Full Text and Social Sciences Full Text.
1994+ - Expanded Academic ASAP Provides significant coverage of education. Multidisciplinary database, providing full text of articles from a wide range of academic and other journals. 1980+
- Project Muse Content from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, journals with critically acclaimed articles by respected scholars in their fields. Strong in the humanities and social sciences.
- ScienceDirect ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Includes coverage of history and philosophy of science, economics, econometrics and finance.
Backfiles 1820+
Full text 1994+ - JSTOR
Provides retrospective fulltext access to a range of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals. 1800+ - Periodicals Archive Online Periodicals Archive Online is an archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.
Websites
- edna | Education Network Australia edna is a network of the education and training community. It includes government and non-government schooling systems, early childhood, vocational and technical education, adult and community education and higher education.
- The Educator's Reference Desk
Provides high-quality resources and services to the education community including lesson plans, links to online education information, and question archive responses. - Education World US site providing educators with resources such as lesson plans, technology integration and professional development as well as sections on early childhood and school issues.
- Board of Studies NSW Serves government and non-government schools in the development of school education for Years K-12. It provides educational leadership by developing quality curriculum and awarding secondary school credentials, the School Certificate and the Higher School
- NSW Department of Education and Training Contains NSW Department of Education & Training (DET) policies and related documents with a State-wide application. Includes policies documents relevant for NSW public schools, NSW Training and Further Education (TAFE) and the DET corporate directorate.
- BUBL LINK: Education links Catalogue of Education web resources provided by BUBL Link Information Service operating out of the Andersonian Library, Strathclyde University, Glasgow.
- Google Directory > Education Comprehensive coverage of many aspects of education. Arranged by topic.
Citation resources
Find more resources like these under the Research support tab of this guide:
- Web of Science
The world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Important database for cited reference searching. 1956+ - Scopus
An abstract & citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, & seamless links to full text articles and other resources. - Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, helping you to identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Set up Library Links to link to available UNSW content.
Search help
Definitions and concepts
- Encyclopedia of education Print only,.
Available at SREF370.3/9 A, Main Library
2nd ed.
Macmillan Reference USA, c2003.
8 volumes. - Encyclopedia of language and education 2nd ed.
2008.
Coverage includes Research methods in language and education, Second and foreign language education, Literacy, Bilingual education. - The Greenwood dictionary of education Print only.
2003
Available at CFAREF 370.3/5, COFA Library.
Provides authoritative definitions for more than 2,600 terms that apply to educational research, practice and theory. - Oxford Reference Online Oxford Reference Online brings together a collection of online dictionaries and thesauri into a single cross-searchable resource. Includes A Dictionary of Psychology.
Books
Learn more about locating books on the Find books page of this guide
- Handbook of research on teaching Print only.
4th ed. 2002
Edited by Virginia Richardson, American Educational Research Association. - Oxford Scholarship Online Oxford Scholarship Online provides access to the full text of 2,557 Oxford books.
- PsycBOOKS e-books via Ovid including books and chapters on learning and education.
Journals
- Australian educational researcher Print + online
- Australian journal of education Print + online
- American journal of education Print + online
- British journal of educational studies Print + online
- Educational theory Print + online
- Review of educational research Print + online
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait