Key databases
- APAFT: Australian Public Affairs Full Text A full text multidisciplinary database which indexes an extensive range of Australian scholarly and general journals, conference proceedings, magazines, and some major articles from newspapers.
Index 1978+
Full text 1995+ - AUSCHRON: a Chronology of Australian Historic & Current Events Provides a listing of significant events in Australian history with emphasis on current happenings, and covering all topics from politics and law to the arts and sport. 1992+
- AHRR: Australian Historic Records Register
A listing of paper-based records held in private collections in Australia, dating from settlement to 1988. Source documents include letters, diaries, photographs, financial records, posters, sketches, recipe books, catalogues, minute books, registers. - MIHILIST: Australasian Military History
Source documents are 14 major periodicals for articles on pre-1980 Australian, New Zealand, and Papua-New Guinean military history plus any published monographs wholly or largely about the MIHILIST subject areas. - Australian Periodical Publications 1840-1845
A digital library of Australian journals that began publication between 1840 and 1845. Fiction published during the same period has also been digitised. These titles are available as searchable text from the University of Sydney's SETIS site. - Hogan | Index to journal articles on Australian History
Hogan is a set of indexes listing articles on Australian history. Each of the volumes deals with journal articles published within a particular span of years.
Print only, available at SREF 994/53 - Australian periodical index Selection of index entries for Australian periodicals.
Print only.
1956 to June 1964 available at SREF 994.005/8,8A
Continues Index to periodicals 1944-1955, available at SREF 994.005/8,8A - Poole's index to periodical literature Indexes newspapers and journals from the 19th century.
Print only, available at SREF050/8 - Historical Abstracts Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education. 1955+
- Times Digital Archive
The complete digital edition of The Times, London. Use keyword searching and hit term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page.
Multidisciplinary databases
- Expanded Academic ASAP Full text database coverage of a broad range of topics, including History. 1980+
- Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies: MAIS Indexes published and unpublished material on all aspects of Australian and multicultural issues. Produced by the Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs Library. 1940+
- Family & Society Plus Indexes Australian writing and research on the legal, sociological, psychological, economic and demographic situation of Australian children and adults. Compiled by the Australian Institute of Family Studies. 1988+
- JSTOR Provides retrospective access to journal articles, from the 19th century onwards.
- Periodicals Archive Online Similar to JSTOR in providing full text access to older issues of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals. British emphasis.
- A+ Education
Provides access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on all aspects of education.
Index 1975+
Full text 2000+
Citation databases
Find more resources like these under the Research support tab of this guide:
- Web of Science
Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more. Includes Social Sciences Citation Index, 1956+ - Scopus An abstract & citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, & seamless links to full text articles and other resources.
- Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, helping you to identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Set up Library Links in Google Scholar to link to available UNSW content.
Search help
Need help searching databases?
Definitions and concepts
- Oxford Reference Online Includes:
The Oxford Companion to Australian History
The Australian Oxford Dictionary
Oxford Companion to Australian Politics
The Oxford Companion to Australian Literature
World Maps - Oxford Companion to Australian History
Draws on the latest scholarship and covers people, institutions, and events that have shaped Australian society, politics and culture. - Politics and International Relations Resource Includes over 30 reference books published by Routledge, such as Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics; Dictionary of the Modern Politics of South-East Asia; The Routledge Dictionary of 20th Century Political Thinkers.
Australians
- Australians: a historical library
Print only.
Major project, which marks 200 years of European settlement in Australia, is the result of a collaboration between 400 of Australia's leading scholars.
Australian government information
Find Australian government information under the How do I? ... tab of this guide.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait