Key databases
- America: History and Life Definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. A major index to Americana, including cultural traditions. 1982+
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search and view America's historic newspapers from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. - History Compass History Compass is an online resource which publishes original survey articles within 9 online journals, combined with a range of useful reference resources.
- Index to Black periodicals
Print only.
An index to African-American periodicals of general and scholarly interest from approximately 34 journals.
1984 to 2004 available at SREF 301.4519605/3 - New York Times 1851-2005 Full image archive providing the entire historical run of The New York Times. The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
1851 to 2005.
Multidisciplinary databases
- Academic Research Library One of the Proquest databases. Good coverage of American History.
- Expanded Academic ASAP Provides international coverage of academic journals, magazines and newspapers. 1980+
- JSTOR Provides retrospective full text access to a range of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals. 1800+
- Periodicals Archive Online Similar to JSTOR in providing full text access to older issues of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals.
- Project Muse Provides access to over 40 Johns Hopkins University Press academic journals. Coverage includes history. Full text resource to numerous topic areas, including history.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega Includes coverage of the Social Sciences Index, The Humanities Index and Reader's Guide.
Subject specific databases
- Alternative Press Index Strong emphasis on minority cultures, ethnic groups and race relations within the United States. 1991+
- Hapi Online Although focusing on Hispanic and Latin American countries, this database is useful for United States relations in this region. 1970+
- International Political Science Abstracts: IPSA Indexes political science journals in many languages.
- Keesing’s record of world events
Provides objective accounts of the world's key events, and is one of the most comprehensive and reliable digests of current international affairs. - Left Index Broad coverage of a range of literature from the Left. 1982+
- PAIS International International coverage of international relations and current events. Strong coverage of the United States. 1972+
- Poole's index to periodical literature Indexes newspapers and journals from the 19th century.
Only in print at SREF050/8/(1-6) - Women's Studies International Broad ranging coverage of women's history 1972+
Citation databases
Find more resources like these under the Research support tab of this guide:
- Web of Science
Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more. Includes Social Sciences Citation Index, 1956+ - Scopus An abstract & citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, & seamless links to full text articles and other resources.
- Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, helping you to identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Set up Library Links in Google Scholar to link to available UNSW content.
Search help
Need help searching databases?
Reference
Definitions, concepts and biographies:
- Oxford Reference Online Includes:
The Oxford Companion to Australian History
The Australian Oxford Dictionary
Oxford Companion to Australian Politics
The Oxford Companion to Australian Literature
World Maps - Politics and International Relations Resource Includes over 30 reference books published by Routledge, such as Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics; Dictionary of the Modern Politics of South-East Asia; The Routledge Dictionary of 20th Century Political Thinkers.
- American National Biography Online Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women from all eras and walks of life whose lives have shaped the United States.
Useful links
- American Historical Documents, 1000–1904 The 47 treaties, speeches, historical accounts and governmental documents in this collection trace the United States from the settling of the continent to the founding of the country to the Civil War and early twentieth-century international relations.
- Core Documents of U.S. Democracy Cornerstone documents such as The Bill of Rights, The Constitution of the USA, The Declaration of Independence along with Congressional, Presidential and Judicial documents.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait