Key databases
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
Covers all subjects, especially in the humanities and social sciences, but also medicine, public health, geology and the environment, pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. Note country and subject search options. 1971+ - International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: IBSS IBSS focuses mainly on the four core social science disciplines: anthropology, politics, economics and sociology. 1951+
- Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education. 1955+ - PAIS International
Offers access to the international literature in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. 1972+
To search PAIS Archive (1915 - 1976), select it via the Specific Databases link on the PAIS search page. - Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus brings together Anthropological Literature (early 19th century+) from Harvard University and Anthropological Index (1957+), Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. - APAFT: Australian Public Affairs Full Text Essential source for any Australian topic. Multidisciplinary coverage including Australian journals, newspapers, with emphasis on social sciences and humanities.
Full text 1995+
Index 1978+ - Asia-Studies Full-text Online
Asia-Studies.com brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 55 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues. Includes contributions from the Australian APEC Study Centre.
Multidisciplinary databases
- JSTOR Scholarly content. Provides retrospective online access to many important journals in a wide range of disciplines and subject areas. Early 1800's+
- Periodicals Archive Online Also known as PCI Full Text. Major scholarly online periodical archive that makes available the back files of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, in 37 key subject areas. 1770+
- Project Muse Johns Hopkins University Press full text journals. 1993+
- British Humanities Index Multidisciplinary database with a U.K. and European perspective. 1962+
- Expanded Academic ASAP From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers. 1980+
- Business Source Premier
Multidisciplinary. Coverage in all disciplines of business including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. 1922+
Includes country economic reports, Harvard Business Review. - OmniFile Full Text Mega Huge multidisciplinary database. Covers all the Wilson databases which can be searched together, or individual databases or subject areas may be selected. Limit to peer reviewed articles.
Index 1982+
Full text 1994+ - Annual Reviews Annual Reviews publishes review articles on issues, concepts and intellectuals. A review article will define the issue and examine it's main concepts and thinkers and will include a generous bibliography of the major published works. 1970+
Subject specific databases
- Sociological Abstracts Main resource for the study of society. Provides many resources on China. 1974+
- Communication & Mass Media Complete Strong communication and mass media content. Covers areas such as intercultural communication, languages and east asian countries.
- Womens Studies International
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. 1972+ - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
International literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. 1973+
1967-1972 only in print at S405/16 - MLA International Bibliography Major international resource for language and literature. Strong on literature, criticism, linguistics and film. 1981+
1921/25 to 1962 only in print at S805/50 - ERIC
Important education database, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational related literature. 1966+ - International Political Science Abstracts: IPSA Major resource for political science. 1951+
- History Compass History Compass is an online resource from Blackwell Publishing which publishes original survey articles within 9 online journals, combined with a range of useful reference resources.
- Philosopher's Index Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. 1940+
Citation databases
Find more resources like these under the Research support tab of this guide:
- Web of Science
Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more. Includes Social Sciences Citation Index, 1956+ - Scopus An abstract & citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, & seamless links to full text articles and other resources.
- Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, helping you to identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Set up Library Links in Google Scholar to link to available UNSW content.
Search help
Need help searching databases?
Definitions and concepts
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy This online encyclopedia is a definitive resource for definitions and concepts covering a breadth of subject matter including ethical, political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy
- Oxford Reference Online Includes A Dictionary of Contemporary World History, The Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World and other relevant reference works.
- Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan Online resource focusing on the complex society of modern Japan. Provides information about Japanese politics, government, economics, corporate behavior, art, culture and history.
e-books
- Oxford Scholarship Online
Oxford's History collection encompasses work at the cusp of late antiquity and the early middle ages right through to the latter decades of the twentieth century, and ranging from the most focused regional histories to the broadest transnational studies. - ACLS Humanities Ebook
Online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books of major importance to historical studies, recommended and reviewed by scholars. The collection includes both in and out of print titles ranging from the 1880's through to 2008.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait