Classics resources
- L'Annee philologique: APh Covers all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world: Greek and Latin linguistics & literature, Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatic & palaeography.
- TOCS-IN
Provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. 1992+ - Gnomon Online The Eischstatt Information System for Classicial Studies.
Key databases
- Academic Research Library One of the Proquest databases. Good coverage of American History.
- Expanded Academic ASAP Provides international coverage of academic journals, magazines and newspapers. 1980+
- JSTOR Provides retrospective full text access to a range of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals. 1800+
- Periodicals Archive Online Similar to JSTOR in providing full text access to older issues of journals. Click on browse to see the range of journals included, or search across a range of journals.
- Project Muse Provides access to over 40 Johns Hopkins University Press academic journals. Coverage includes history. Full text resource to numerous topic areas, including history.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega Includes coverage of the Social Sciences Index, The Humanities Index and Reader's Guide.
- Philosopher's Index The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. 1940+
- Art Retrospective Art Retrospective provides citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. The database cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world.
- British Humanities Index Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education. 1955+
Citation databases
Find more resources like these under the Research support tab of this guide:
- Web of Science
Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more. Includes Social Sciences Citation Index, 1956+ - Scopus An abstract & citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, & seamless links to full text articles and other resources.
- Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, helping you to identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Set up Library Links in Google Scholar to link to available UNSW content.
Search help
Need help searching databases?
Definitions and concepts
- Oxford Reference Online Includes:
* The Oxford Classical Dictionary
* The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
* The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization
* The Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
* Who's Who in the Classical World - Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy This online encyclopedia is a definitive resource for definitions and concepts covering a breadth of subject matter including Ancient philosophy and philosophers.
- Barrington atlas of the Greek and Roman world Print only.
3 vols
Princeton University Press, 2000. - Oxford Art Online The new home of Grove Art Online, providing over 40,000 image links and 5,000 images.
Includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait