Key databases
- Compendex (Ei Village 2) Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
- CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX Brings together leading materials science databases,with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application.
- Applied Science & Technology Full Text Coverage of Wilson's periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, geographic information systems, geology, engineering, mining engineering and physics.
- ATRI: Australian Transport Index
Documents indexed include all ARRB Group and Austroads publications. Coverage of other Australian & New Zealand publications is comprehensive; overseas publications are indexed more selectively. 1960+ - Transport
Comprehensive source of international transportation and economic information. Combines:
- Transportation Research Information Services (US)
- International Transport Research Documentation (OECD)
- TRANSDOC (ECMT)
Related databases
- ABI/Inform Trade and Industry Indexes business, economics and transport management journals. Useful for management issues.
- Civil Engineering Database ASCE Civil Engineering Database. Also part of CSA Engineering Research Database
- CSA Technology Research Database Comprises 3 major subsets of databases. One subset is CSA Engineering Research Database This comprises Earthquake Engineering, Civil Engineering abstracts and Environmental Engineering abstracts.
- Emerald Fulltext
A powerful business research tool. Includes subject areas such as Management, Project Management, Quality control. - ICONDA
Indexes journals, books, theses, conference proceedings and reports for building and construction. 1974+ - NTIS: National Technical Information Service NTIS is the central source for the public sale of U.S. Government-sponsored research, development and engineering reports. 1966+
- Proquest Science Journals Provides access and searching options for the full text and images of leading journals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications and transportation.
- ScienceDirect ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Includes coverage of history and philosophy of science.
Backfiles 1820+
Full text 1994+ - SciFinder Scholar SciFinder Scholar is a desktop research tool that allows access to chemical information. Special software is required to access this database.
- STREAMLINE: Australia's Natural Resources Database
Australia's Natural Resources Database (STREAMLINE) is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of natural resource management. 1990+ - TOXNET TOXNET is sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, through the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program. Its databases relate to areas of toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas.
- Scopus
An abstract & citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, & seamless links to full text articles and other resources. - Web of Science The Web of Science delivers web-based access to the citation indexes Complete coverage is now provided. Indexes include: Science Citation Index 1945+; Social Sciences Citation Index 1956+; Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975+
- Australian Heritage Bibliography
Indexes journals, unpublished reports, books and videos relating to Australia's natural and cultural environment; produced by the Australian Heritage Commission. 1987+
Search help
Need help searching databases?
Definitions and concepts
- Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology
Authoritative encyclopedia of science.
2004
Online + print
Standards
More information about Standards is available under the Find Standards page of this Subject Guide.
- Building Code of Australia + Standards (SAI Global)
The Building Code of Australia (BCA) is a uniform set of technical provisions for the design and construction of buildings and other structures throughout Australia. Updated daily. - Australian Standards (SAI Global)
Australian Standards Online provides full text access to all current Australian Standards, joint Australian/New Zealand Standards and joint Australian/New Zealand/ISO Standards.
e-books
- CRCnetBASE Provides online access to hundreds of full text Engineering Handbooks covering all fields of Engineering including Computer Engineering and Systems Engineering.
- Civil Engineering Handbook 2003
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait