Medicine databases
General databases for Medicine:
The following databases provide a good coverage of medical topics.
For more subject specific information, use the Subjects tab
- Medline
MEDLINE is widely recognised as the premier source for bibliographic & abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources. 1966+ - Clin-eguide
Clin-eguide, previously ClinicalResource@Ovid, is a point-of-care resource that aids clinical decision making. Includes full text resources such as evidence-based treatment guidelines, drug facts & comparisons, patient handouts, natural product reviews. - Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration. - EMBASE
EMBASE, the Excerpta Medica database, produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals. 1980+ - Meditext Covers all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields and is produced by the National Library of Australia.
- MIMS Online
An Australian pharmaceutical database. It has access to essential information on over 2300 prescription and non-prescription drugs. - Faculty of 1000 Medicine
Faculty of 1000 Medicine is a unique online service that helps you stay informed of high impact articles and access the opinions of global leaders in medicine.
Medicine e-books
- Australia's Health 2008 Australia's Health 2008 is the 11th biennial health report of the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. A source of statistics and informed commentary on health and illness and health services.
- Australian Immunisation Handbook - 9th Edition 2008 The Australian Immunisation Handbook 9th Edition 2008 was released on April 8, 2008 by the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC).
- Clinical Evidence Clinical Evidence, from the BMJ Publishing Group, is the international source of the best available evidence for effective health care.
- Clinical Methods: The History, Physical, and Laboratory Examinations. 3rd ed. Edited by Walker, H.K.; Hall, W.D.; Hurst, J.W., Butterworth Publishers; c1990. The book is a guide on techniques and analysis of clinical data.
- ETG Complete An electronic compilation of Therapeutic Guidelines. Provides therapeutic information for the management of patients with specific conditions.
- Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
The Bartleby.com edition of Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body. - Harrison's Online Updated daily, the site delivers the complete text, illustrations, and expanded features from the 15th edition of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, including additional references and many links to MEDLINE™® abstracts.
- HIV Medicine HIV Medicine is a medical textbook that aims to provide a comprehensive and up-to-date overview of the treatment of HIV Infection.
- Hurst's the Heart Online access to this classic cardiology text, covering cardiovascular health and disease, the anatomy of the heart and current cardiology medicine.
- Interactive ECG Interactive ECG aims to provide accurate, high quality ECG information in an interactive, clinically relevant environment to facilitate the acquisition of skills in ECG interpretation.
- Manual of Use and Interpretation of Pathology Tests. 4th ed. 2004. Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia.
- Merck Manual This website covers Merck Manual of Medical Information, Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, Merck Manual of Geriatrics, Merck Veterinary Manual, Merck Index.
- Murtagh's General Practice 4th Edition Murtagh's General Practice is a comprehensive textbook that focuses on the very basics of medical principles and management.
- SARSReference A medical textbook that provides a comprehensive and up-to-date overview of severe acute repiratory syndrome (SARS)
- Australian Medicines Handbook Provides indications, contraindications, specific considerations, interactions, adverse effects and dosage of most of the drugs marketed in Australia
Medicine e-book collections
Collections providing full text and fully searchable books of major importance, recommended and reviewed by scholars.
- AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine is the only online medical resource updated daily by the world’s leading experts in their fields, covering : Basic Science. Clinical Science, Clinical Medicine. Click i for the full list of titles. - Books@Ovid
Collection of full text electronic books on various medical topics. Click on i for the full list of titles.
Medicine online companions
- Online Companion to Essentials of Clinical Immunology, 4th edition
Written by Helen Chapel, Mansel Haeney, Siraj Misbah and Neil Snowden. 1999.
This site features an exciting array of web-based supplementary material. - Online Companion to Kuby Immunology , 4th edition Written by Richard A. Goldsby, Thomas J. Kindt and Barbara A.Osborne. W.H. Freeman, 2000.
This website is designed to help students review key concepts from the textbook through interactive exercises and learning tools. - Online Companion to William Larsen's Human Embryology (3rd edition) and Essentials of Human Embryology
This website contains supplemental materials for William Larsen's Human Embryology textbooks.
Search help
Need help searching databases?
Public Health
Public Health & Community Medicine Subject Guide
Other Medicine resources
- Mayo Clinic
Mayo Clinic's three main Web sites provide information and services from the world's first and largest integrated, not-for-profit group medical practice. - MedlinePlus This web gateway provides good health information from the world's largest medical library, the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Health professionals and consumers alike can depend on it for information that is authoritative and up to date.
- HealthInsite Commonwealth Government of Australia initiative which aims to provide access to quality information about human health
- National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) The NHMRC is responsible for raising the standard of individual and public health. It does this by fostering health and medical research and training and by monitoring ethical issues relating to health throughout Australia
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait