Databases for researchers
The following databases can assist researchers:
- find citation data for research literature
- find peer reviewed literature
- check publication details of journals
Researchers benefit from knowing how often their published research has been cited by other researchers.
For assistance with citation analysis, read more about the Research Impact Measurement Service (below)
- Web of Science The Web of Science delivers web-based access to the citation indexes: Science Citation Index 1945+, Social Sciences Citation Index 1956+, Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975+
- JCR: Journal Citation Reports A comprehensive & unique resource tool for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide. JCR can show you the: highest impact journal; most frequently used journals; hottest journals
- Scopus Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles.
- Ulrich's Periodicals Directory Authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types — academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters and more.
Thesis support
Need assistance with your thesis?
- Thesis Guide
A guide to finding theses and writing your thesis, prepared by UNSW Library - Thesis Proposals: A Brief Guide
The Learning Centre's guide for students enrolled in a postgraduate research degree who have been asked to submit a thesis proposal - Writing and Presenting Your Thesis or Dissertation
This useful guide assists graduate students in thinking through the many aspects of crafting, implementing and defending a thesis or dissertation.
- Library Thesis Deposit
A guide to preparing and depositing a print copy of your thesis to UNSW Library - Digital Thesis Deposit
How to deposit a digital copy of your thesis to UNSW Library
Databases providing full text or citation details of theses worldwide:
- Proquest Dissertations & Theses
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and masters theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. - Australian Digital Theses The aim of the Australian Digital Theses Project is to create a national collaborative distributed database of digitised theses produced at Australian Universities. The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only.
- Index to Theses Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland. Corresponds to the printed Index to Theses.
1716+ - British Library EThOS | Electronic Theses Online Service EThOS aims to give access to ALL theses from participating UK institutions whether paper based or electronic. EThOS harvests e-theses from Institutional Repositories and digitises paper based theses as they are ordered by researchers using the system.
UNSWorks
What is UNSWorks?
UNSWorks is an online institutional repository of UNSW research output. This UNSW Library service makes content freely available to other researchers to search and access
Who can deposit material in UNSWorks?
UNSW staff and students can deposit research material into UNSWorks
What is the purpose of UNSWorks?
UNSWorks aims to enhance the value and impact of UNSW research by making it more visible and accessible globally, free of charge. It assists researchers and academics with managing their research material, providing a stable and enduring home for their research output.
RIMS
Research Impact Measurement Service
A service advising UNSW researchers on issues around measuring and tracking the impact of research outputs.
Individual researchers are provided with:
- a complete H-Index or life-time citation counts
- group benchmarking against other GO8 faculties
- research impact statements
- discipline based research trends
Useful to Schools whose research publication output is journal based.
For more information or to arrange a presentation, please contact your Faculty Outreach Librarian
UNSW Library
Do you need help?
Research Consultations
for postgraduates
ELISE | Study Skills Tutorial
how to find, use & evaluate information
ELISE Plus
the next step - build on basic information finding skills.
Recommended for all UNSW students
ELISE Advanced
further develop the essential graduate skills involved in scholarly enquiry.
Useful for postgraduate students
UNSW Library
available when you need it
Contacts
Contact a Faculty Outreach Librarian
Contact the Graduate Research School
Information about Research at UNSW
Link to the Faculty of Medicine
Research Consultations
Book a Research Consultation
Who is it for?
Academics and higher degree students
Why is it useful?
A personalised research consultation can help you:
- look for topic related information
- refine your search strategy
- find relevant resources
- locate and retrieve information
Links for researchers
Links and information to help support your research:
- Intercampus Loans
- Interlibrary Loans
- Off Campus Services
- Photocopying
- Purchase Recommendation - Library
- Endnote & RefWorks

- Download Endnote ... from the IT Services website
- ELISE Advanced

Links for teachers
Links and information to help support your teaching:
- Film & Video Service
- MyCourse (Reserve) Services
- Ordering Textbooks (for Academic staff)
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait