Databases
- MIMS Online
An Australian pharmaceutical database. It has access to essential information on over 2300 prescription and non-prescription drugs. - ETG Complete An electronic compilation of Therapeutic Guidelines. Provides therapeutic information for the management of patients with specific conditions.
- Embase
EMBASE, the Excerpta Medica database, produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals. 1980+ - SciFinder
SciFinder, the database of the American Chemical Society, is the most comprehensive resource for chemistry and related disciplines. - Clin-eguide
Clin-eguide, previously ClinicalResource@Ovid, is a point-of-care resource that aids clinical decision making. Includes full text resources such as evidence-based treatment guidelines, drug facts & comparisons, patient handouts, natural product reviews. - CISDOC A database of nearly 50,000 citations to documents on occupational health and safety, safety standards, chemical and physical hazards, including : law and regulations, chemical safety data sheets, training material, journal articles, books and ILO conventions.
Important resources
- Australian Medicines Handbook Provides indications, contraindications, specific considerations, interactions, adverse effects and dosage of most of the drugs marketed in Australia
- Basic and clinical pharmacology / Bertram G. Katzung This book is designed to provide a complete, authoritative, current, and readable pharmacology textbook for students in the health sciences.
- Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 11th Edition Laurence L. Brunton, editor-in-chief
Associate Editors: Keith L. Parker, Nelda Murri, and Donald K. Blumenthal - Current protocols in pharmacology Current Protocols in Pharmacology is a "best-practices" collection of lab protocols in the areas of drug discovery and safety pharmacology.
- Concise dictionary of pharmacological agents: properties and synonyms This dictionary provides indispensable information for researchers in the fields of pharmacology, medicinal chemistry and pharmaceutics, and biochemistry, as well as for medical and science writers and editors and drug regulatory officers.
- The United States pharmacopeia The United States Pharmacopeia (USP) is an official public standards–setting authority for all prescription and over–the–counter medicines and other health care products manufactured or sold in the United States.
- The British pharmacopeia The British Pharmacopoeia is the authoritative collection of standards for UK medicines and is an essential reference for anyone involved in pharmaceutical R&D, manufacture, testing and regulation.
- Meyler's side effects of drugs: the international encyclopedia of adverse drug reactions and interactions (15th ed) Meyler' provides a critical encyclopaedic survey of the entire field of adverse drug reactions. The vast amount of data is presented in a structured and readable form. Two indexes (drugs and adverse effects) make the book easily accessible.
- Instant clinical pharmacology Begg, Evan J.
2008, 2nd ed.
Presents essential information about the core topics in clinical pharmacology in a concise, accessible format and aims to bridge the gap between basic pharmacology and the therapeutic use of drugs in humans.
Search help
Need help searching databases?
e-books
- CRCnetBASE
Access online versions of: The Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, The Combined Chemical Dictionary, The Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, the CRC Press Engineering Handbook series. - Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Allows online access to the Fourth Edition of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology with a powerful search engine and intuitive user interface.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait