Skip to main content

ELISE | Informing your studies tutorial: ELISE Glossary

Glossary

Boolean operators
AND, OR and NOT connect and define the relationship between your search terms in a database search. Using these Boolean operators can narrow or broaden your search results.

Citation
A reference to a published or unpublished source e.g. book, journal article, thesis.

Citation chaining
A method of finding more useful resources. It involves looking at the reference list of one useful article to obtain more useful references in the same subject area.

Citation database
A scholarly database that includes the bibliographies of its content so they can be used to search for publications that cite a known author or work. Citation databases, or indexes, can also be used to find more information on a topic. Examples include Web of Science and Scopus.

Citing
Acknowledging the sources that you use to write your essay or assignment.

Copyright and licensing
Copyright places limits on how much of a published work may be copied and/or communicated to others while licensing restricts access to the Library’s online resources to currently enrolled students and staff. Access must be within the Library’s guidelines as stated in the Library conditions of use policy

Course resources
Resources made available in Moodle to students by their lecturer that are highly relevant for the understanding of their subject.

Database
An organised index to selected areas of published literature including journal articles, conference proceedings, newspaper articles, government reports and book reviews. The Library has databases in a wide variety of subject areas to support the teaching and research activities at UNSW.

DOI
A digital object identifier is a unique alphnumeric string which provides a persistent link to the location of an item on the internet.

Ebook
A book available in electronic format. Search the Library collection to access UNSW Library's ebooks.

Ejournal
A journal available in electronic format. Search the Library collection or use the eJournals list to access UNSW Library’s ejournals.

Full text
Contains the complete text of articles, book chapters, dissertations etc.

Help Zone
Students can ask questions about their research and find help with using the Library in the Help Zones. They are located near the main entrances of all UNSW libraries. 

High Use Collection (HUC)
A collection of items in high demand. Items are available for 2 hour loans. Students can borrow a maximum of 2 items at a time from the self-service machines located inside HUC. 

In-text citation
A reference made within the body of a journal article or academic essay. It generally consists of the author's name, date of publication and page number. The complete reference will appear in the bibliography or list of references at the end of the text.

Journals
Publications produced on an ongoing basis. Also known as serials or periodicals.  
Many of the journals held at UNSW Library are academic or scholarly and are an excellent source of current scholarly articles. 

Keywords
Terms used to retrieve information in a search engine or database. Keywords are usually natural language whereas subject terms are pre-defined. 

Library collection
UNSW Library search tool for finding books and online resources. Different search features allow you to refine your search and to limit by available print and full text online resources.  All items, including course materials, High Use Collection, exam papers, books, journal titles, maps, music, DVDs and UNSWorks are included in the search.

Peer-reviewed literature
Publications which have undergone an extensive review process often undertaken by academics and/or experts in the field. Peer-reviewed journals or articles are also known as refereed or scholarly. Some databases allow you to limit a search to peer-reviewed journals or articles only.

Plagiarism
Presenting another person's work or ideas as your own. It is considered to be a type of intellectual theft and can be done intentionally or by accident. At UNSW plagiarism is grouped into the following categories: copying, inappropriate paraphrasing, collusion and duplication.

Primary sources
Provide original research and ideas or first-hand accounts of events or time periods. What constitutes a primary source will differ depending on the discipline.

Reading list
List of course resources made available in Moodle to students by their lecturer that are highly relevant for their understanding of the subject.

Reference management software
Software for storing and managing citations.  Examples include EndNote, BibTex and RefWorks.
Also known as bibliographic or citation management software.

Referencing
Acknowledging the sources you use to write your essay or assignment.

Referencing style
A formal recognized system for presenting sources of information in the body of a work and listed in a bibliography or reference list. Examples are Harvard, APA and Chicago. Also known as a citation style.
The preferred referencing style for your school will generally be found in your course outline or on the faculty or school website.

Research impact
Tracking the effect published research is having on the wider scholarly community. That is, how many times, and where, a published work has been cited by other researchers.

Secondary sources
Offer an analysis or a restatement of primary sources.

Self-guided tours
Become more familiar with the Main Library, Law Library and Paddington Library via our UNSW Library's online tours.  They include library services, collections and student facilities.

Student Code policy
Outlines the behaviour that is expected of all students at UNSW, and also details key obligations of the University towards students. The Code is designed to maintain an environment that is harmonious and tolerant for all.

Subject guides
A selection of key resources in a wide range of subject areas. A good starting point for accessing key information resources for research and study. Regularly updated as new relevant resources become available.

Subject terms
Pre-defined terms used in databases, library catalogues etc. to describe the records they contain. Also known as subjects, subject headings and descriptors

Truncation
The use of a symbol such as *, ? or $, at the end or in the middle of a word to include possible variations in spelling and alternate endings. Used when searching a database. For example: Austral* = Australia, Australian, Australasia; wom?n = woman or women.
Different databases use a variety of truncation symbols so check individual database Help pages.

UNSWorks
The online institutional repository of UNSW research output.  UNSW staff and students can deposit eligible publications and research material into UNSWorks
Repository content can be searched and accessed on the web, by other researchers and by the public.