Skip to main content

ELISE | Informing your studies tutorial: Library locations

Shelf numbering systems

Libraries use classification systems that assign a unique number to each item, based on subject area.

Find items on Library shelves using the item number you have found in the catalogue.

Main Library and Paddington Library
Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC)

Law Library

Moys Classification
A summary of Moys has been developed by the University of Wollongong Library.

Reserved items

You can request an item that is on loan to another borrower via myLibrary.

Collect reserved items:

  • Main Library, Level 2
    Reservation area adjacent to High Use Collection (self service)
     
  • Law Library
    Help Zone (provide the item number)
     
  • Paddington Library
    Help Zone (provide the item number)

Where is it?

Main Library
Kensington campus

Level 2
High Use Collection
Reserved items
Level 4
Book and journal collection
Microfilms & microfiche
Level 3
Book and journal collection
Map collection
Levels 6 - 9
Book and journal collection

For the most up to date collection locations check the Library website.

Law Library
Kensington campus

Ground Level
Books & journals
High Use Collections

Level 4
   280 - 330
   Microfilms & microfiche 
Level 1
Reference collection
Primary materials
Level 5-10
   331 - 999

For the most up to date collection locations check the Library website.

Paddington Library 
Paddington campus

Ground Level
Reference materials
Bound journals
High Use Collection
Level 4
   280 - 330
   Microfilms & microfiche 
Level 1
Books
Recent issues of journals
Level 5-10
   331 - 999

 

High Use Collection

  Where is it? Location
  Main Library Level 2
  Law Library Ground Level
  Paddington Library Level 1

The High Use Collection holds items in high demand:

  • 2 hour loans
  • borrow and return via machines in the High Use Collection area

Reserved items

  • an email will be sent when items are available
  • borrow via machines in the High Use Collection area