Key resources
- American history : a very short introductionA wide-ranging and authoritative history of America. This Very Short Introduction offers an account of politics, diplomacy, and war as well as the full spectrum of social, cultural, and scientific developments that shaped America.
- ProQuest databases This link opens in a new windowIncludes PAIS index which covers political, economic and social issues with a focus on the United States from 1915 onwards.
In ProQuest databases, select History from the subject areas then select Pais index. - International security & counter terrorism reference center This link opens in a new windowExtensive coverage of security and terrorism related issues.
- ProQuest history vault: Vietnam War and American foreign policy, 1960-1975 This link opens in a new windowDocuments trace the actions and decisions at the highest levels of the U.S. foreign policy apparatus, as well as events on the ground in Vietnam, from the perspective of State Department officials.
Primary Sources
- Archives unbound via GaleA collection of digitalized historical documents from a U.S. perspective. Collections cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages to witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
- Declassified documents reference system DDRS via Gale This link opens in a new windowPreviously classified U.S. government documents dealing with the post-WWII period.
Featured resource
- British online archives : American studies the colonisation of North America and the American Revolution This link opens in a new windowBoth American and Canadian in scope, this resource offers a variety of digitised records from the 18th and 19th centuries.