About this guide
Welcome to the Public Health & Community Medicine Subject Guide
| Database tutorials |
| Searching Medline |
| Evidence Based Medicine |
Key resources
More databases are available under the Subjects tab
- Embase
EMBASE, the Excerpta Medica database, produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals. 1980+ - Global Health
Brings together resources of 2 international databases: Public Health & Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database, previously produced by the Bureau of Hygiene & Tropical Diseases (BHTD), and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB ABSTRACTS - Meditext Covers all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields and is produced by the National Library of Australia.
- Medline
MEDLINE is widely recognised as the premier source for bibliographic & abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources. 1966+ - The Virtual Library for Public Health The Virtual Library aims to provide an index of quality public health sites and resources. The content is split into 2 sections according to: geographical locations and selected topics.
- Faculty of 1000 Medicine
Faculty of 1000 Medicine is a unique online service that helps you stay informed of high impact articles and access the opinions of global leaders in medicine. - APAIS Health This subset of the APAIS database covers legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health in Australia.
Subject resources
Search for information in a range of subject specific resources
| Related guide |
| Medicine |
Find UNSW resources
Do you want to find books and other items held in UNSW Library?
Catalogue | search for all UNSW Library resources
Library resources are located on open shelves, Levels 3 - 10 of the Main Library
UNSW Library
Do you need help?
Research Consultations
for postgraduates
ELISE | Study Skills Tutorial
how to find, use & evaluate information
ELISE Plus
the next step - build on basic information finding skills.
Recommended for all UNSW students
ELISE Advanced
further develop the essential graduate skills involved in scholarly enquiry.
Useful for postgraduate students
UNSW Library
available when you need it
How do I? ...
Need help with your research?

Loading RSS Feed...
Featured resource
SourceOECD is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. It comprises 20 Book collections by theme, containing all their monographs and reports; 20 periodicals; some reference titles; and the OECD statistical databases.
Key areas:
- global economics
- health
- legal and social issues
- statistics
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait