Key resources
- KITLV/Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean StudiesThis free web site is an excellent resource for Indonesian history. It provides a digital image library (with images/photographs dating from the mid 19th century) and a catalogue indexing English, Indonesian and Dutch books and scholarly journals.
Primary sources
- Nineteenth century collections online: Asia and the West: diplomacy and cultural exchangeContains primary source collections related to international relations between Asian countries and the West during the 19th century. Included are government reports, diplomatic correspondence, newspapers, treaties, trade agreements, and NGO papers.
- European colonialism in the early 20th century: colonialism and nationalism in the Dutch East Indies, 1910-1930 via Archives unbound This link opens in a new windowProvides correspondence, studies and reports, cables, and maps relating to U.S. consular activities in the Dutch East Indies.
- Foreign office files for Southeast Asia, 1967-1980 module II via Adam Matthew This link opens in a new windowComprising of FCO 15 and 25 class government papers from The National Archives, the UK traces the substantial economic and industrial growth experienced by the region during this period. There is also coverage of authoritarian regimes in the Philippines and Indonesia under Presidents Marcos and Suharto, the establishment of Singapore as a major world port, and sources covering the political and racial tensions in the region.
- South Asia archive This link opens in a new windowThe historical documents within the Archive reflect the varied range of knowledge production in colonial and early post-colonial India and the wider sub-continent.
- NewspaperSGNewspaperSG is an online archive of digitised Singaporean newspapers, produced by the National Library Board, Singapore
- JSTOR South Asia Open ArchivesThe South Asia Open Archives (SAOA) is a collection of open access materials for the study of South Asia. Materials include historical and contemporary sources covering the arts, humanities, and social sciences, in English and South Asian languages.
