If your assignment or research project requires you to find statistics related to your topic, this guide provides some ideas to help get you started. Locating relevant statistics can be challenging and may require looking in a range of places.
Key Australian and international sources are listed below. You can also view the menu for resources in specific fields such as medicine, business and law.
Consider your sources
There may be resources beyond this guide that are useful for your topic area.
Consider the organisations, departments or groups that may be collecting statistics related to your field.
Australian Bureau of Statistics
The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) is Australia's national statistical agency. The ABS provides statistics on a wide range of economic and social matters, serving government, business and the general population of Australia.
The ABS collects data from the Australian population every 5 years through the National Census. The Census is the largest survey the ABS conducts, and one of the most important. It provides the basis for official population estimates for Australia, state, territory and local government areas.
Key publications from the Australian Bureau of Statistics include:
-
Australian Economic IndicatorsStatistical summary of the performance of the Australian economy.
-
Australian Social TrendsQuarterly publication that draws on a wide range of data to present a picture of Australian.
-
Historical publicationsLists the national published output of the ABS published between 1907 and 1993. State publications are not included. ABS publications from 1994 onwards are available full-text on the ABS website.
Microdata consists of Confidentialised Unit Record Files (CURFs) from key ABS surveys. The unit level for a CURF may be a household, an income unit or a family. The datasets have been confidentialised. CURF microdata is the most detailed level of ABS statistical data available. It includes technical papers and user guides for some datasets
CURF data is freely available to UNSW researchers under agreement between the Australian Bureau of Statistics and the Universities Chancellors Committee (UCC). Before accessing these tools and data sources, you first need to follow the directions to register using your UNSW email.
TableBuilder is an online self-help tool designed for users who have a knowledge of Census concepts and some experience using Census data.
Compare data services will help you choose the best ABS data service for your research.
More resources for statistics
-
Australian Data ArchiveThe Australian Data Archive (ADA) provides a national service for the collection and preservation of digital research data. ADA covers Social Science, Historical, Indigenous, Longitudinal, Qualitative, Crime and Justice, and International data. To access data a user must first register with ADA.
-
Data.gov.auCreated to support the public access and reuse of Australian government datasets. See About for terms of use.
-
NSW Centre for Education Statistics and Evaluation (CESE)Since 2012 CESE has been collecting, analysing and evaluating New South Wales education related statistics to support teachers and educators.
-
.idCommunity | Local government statisticsProvides suburb-based community profiles for local councils in Australia and New Zealand. Profiles highlight social and economic factors via an easy to use interface.
-
HILDAThe HILDA (Household, Income and Labour Dynamics in Australia) survey is a household based panel study. It provides insight into economic circumstances over time and the persistence of income disadvantage for individual households. The survey began in 2001 and collects information regarding economic and personal well-being, labour market and family dynamics. Find out more about the HILDA survey.
Access to the HILDA datasets is only available to current UNSW academic staff and postgraduate researchers. For more information on how to register for HILDA, see NCLD Dataverse.
-
Statista This link opens in a new windowAn online statistics, market research and business intelligence portal providing access to statistics, industry reports, and market outlooks from a range of private and government institutions.
-
International programsDemographic, economic and geographic studies of other countries conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau aimed at strengthening statistical development around the world through technical assistance, training and software products.
-
UNDataFree web access to statistics compiled by the UN and its agencies through a single entry point. It covers a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
-
UNESCO Institute for StatisticsGlobal and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, culture and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.
-
Data.govExcellent and growing source for raw data, including 5 pages on data sets on labour and employment.
-
International historical statistics This link opens in a new windowInternational Historical Statistics (1750-2010) is the latest edition of the most authoritative collection of statistics available. Provides key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years.
Searching with Google?
Always be sure to evaluate the the information you find online. It is possible that the available statistics on a subject area are not adequately current, specific or reliable for your needs.
Looking for other types of information?
If you are looking for other types of grey literature such as reports, a helpful starting point is the Grey literature guide.
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation