Discover key resources for research related to music studies.
-
Music index online This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage of all aspects of music, including film music and the use of music in film.
1979+ -
RILM abstracts of music literature This link opens in a new windowMajor international resource for research in music and music education.
-
Trove: music, sound and videoSearch for music, sound and video collection of National Library of Australia. Includes printed & recorded music, interviews, lectures and talks.
-
Popular culture in Britain and America 1950-1975This resource covers events from the period between 1950-1975, including music, fashion, youth culture, etc. Includes photographs, video footage, pamphlets, letters, government files, memorabilia, and eye witness accounts.
-
Naxos music library This link opens in a new windowIncludes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues of over 75,000 tracks, including classical music, historical recordings, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music. Whilst listening, users can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.
-
Music & performing arts collections (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new windowA large collection of video, text and audio. Includes classical music scores, opera, tracks, playlists, performances, composers, instruments, ensembles, venues, time periods, dance, film, jazz, theatre, popular and world music. The link will take you to home page, you can locate the collection in Disciplines.
-
JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly content providing retrospective online access to many important journals in a wide range of disciplines and subject areas in the arts and sciences. 19th century +
-
ProQuest databases This link opens in a new windowIncludes sources on contemporary music, such as Billboard, Rolling Stone and others.
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation