Specific collections offer access to open access resources within a defined scope or theme, or maintained by a single institution or initiative.
View the resources below for examples of multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections. Always consult the terms of use of specific resources for your purposes.
You can also explore the menu for sources of specific types of open resources.
-
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)Text, images, video and audio content from American libraries, archives and museums. Some content is in the public domain or available under CC By 3.0 License - see individual record for details.
-
Open Knowledge Repository (OKR)The World Bank's open access repository which includes the World Development Report, and other annual publications, academic books, practitioner volumes, and the Bank’s publicly disclosed country studies and analytical reports. Works are under Creative Commons licences. Refer to the Terms of Use for further details.
-
Openstax CNXOpen educational content provided and maintained by Rice University. Content is divided into modules, small ‘knowledge chunks’ and collections, groups of modules. See details under the Attribution tab, located at the bottom of the page for each item, for CC licence information. See also About Us for general information.
-
The ConversationProvides independent and informed news articles and opinion pieces on a broad range of topics, sourced from the Australian academic and research communities. Articles, unless otherwise stated, are under a Creative Commons licence and can be shared and republished by following the conditions outlined in their Republishing guidelines
-
Wellcome Library - Digital collectionsContent covers a variety of topics (e.g. public health, genetics, mental health and the history of medicine). You can find resources in the form of books, pamphlets, archives, posters, photographs, and film and sound recordings. Terms of use vary - see individual items for copyright and licence information .
-
ArXiv This link opens in a new windowOpen access to resources within the areas of Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
-
Federal Register of LegislationContains the full text of acts (as made and amended), bills, legislative instruments (subordinate legislation) and gazettes. Permission must be sought to use Commonwealth parliamentary material commercially. See Copyright page for details.
-
National Library of Medicine : Digital CollectionsA collection of biomedical books, images, videos, and ephemeral material. All of the content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain. See NLM Copyright Information page for further details.
-
Parliament of NSWIncludes NSW bills (including explanatory notes, and second reading speeches), Hansard, parliamentary committee reports, and other parliamentary documents. Permission must be sought to use NSW Parliamentary material commercially. See Copyright & Conditions of Use page for details.
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation