Company, industry, country and consumer information is essential for all business students. These reports contain valuable information such as financial analysis, industry evaluations and forecasts, hype cycles, consumer behaviour and analysis.
Not-for-profit (NFP) organisations are entities that do not operate for profit, personal gain, or the benefit of their members. Their societal contribution is reaching and supporting marginalised groups and addressing a range of issues—social, environmental, educational, and health-related. The following resources can assist with researching not-for-profit organisations.
Finding company and industry information
-
DatAnalysis premium This link opens in a new windowMerges the two UNSW databases, FinAnalysis and DatAnalysis. Top 500 companies in Australia. Data for all ASX listed companies. All announcements from 1989, Image Signal Announcements from Sept 1999. 12-year history of detailed financial information for all ASX listed companies. Summarises each of the three major financial statements and provides a large range of ratios and analytical calculations.
-
Connect4 This link opens in a new windowAnalyse the activities of companies listed on the Australian Stock Exchange.
-
IBISWorld (Australian content) This link opens in a new windowIndustry research reports cover almost every Australian industry, including new report titles on emerging industries and key statistics.
Company reports profile the nation’s largest public, private, foreign owned and government businesses.
-
MarketLine advantage This link opens in a new windowMarketLine offers a comprehensive collection of reports and case studies profiling major companies, industries and geographies. Each report includes: business profiles, company profiles, industry analysis, SWOT analysis, country statistics, market data analytics, financial deals and company news. Use MarketLine to find information on over 30,000 international companies and 3,500 industry profiles for 200+ countries.
-
Passport GMID (Global market information database) This link opens in a new windowGlobal Market Information Database provides key business intelligence on countries, companies, consumer markets, consumer trends & lifestyles. From the top toolbar, browse by Industries, Countries & Consumers, Companies or Geographies (regions).
-
D&B Hoovers Industries This link opens in a new windowIncludes information on the top 90,000 global private & public companies, 260,000 Asia Pacific and top 21,000 ANZ companies. Analyst Reports tab provides company forecasts. Note: Previously known as OneSource: Global Business Browser.
-
Statista This link opens in a new windowAn online statistics, market research and business intelligence portal. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organisations and government institutions in English, French, German and Spanish. Statista also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks.
-
Gartner This link opens in a new windowGartner is a leading consulting firm that provides independent research and analysis on all aspects of the Information Technology industry. The industries covered include: Education, Energy and Utilities, Financial, Banking, Insurance, investment services, government, healthcare providers, manufacturing, media, retail.
-
IBISWorld (Australian content) This link opens in a new windowProvides company and industry reports on not-for-profit organisations in Australia. To locate relevant information, search "not for profit" and filter results by Company Reports or Industry Reports.
-
Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission (ACNC)Use the Search for a Charity feature to access the Charity Register and find detailed information on registered Australian charities. Each entry includes sections on Profile, Financials & Documents, People, and History.
-
MarketLine advantage This link opens in a new windowProvides company and industry reports on international not-for-profit organisations. To find relevant content, use the Sectors tab and select "Government and Non-Profit Organisations", or go to the Companies tab and apply the Industry & Geography filter to refine results to this sector.
-
ProPublicaProvides access to U.S. nonprofit financial data, including IRS filings and executive compensation. Search by organisation name to view Form 990 data, revenue and expenses, and governing board details.
-
EDGARProvides access to corporate filings, including financial statements and disclosures submitted by U.S. nonprofit organisations that issue securities. Use to search Form 990, annual reports, and other regulatory documents.
-
Charity commission UKRegulates charities in England and Wales and maintains a public register. Search the Charity Register to access information on a charity’s activities, financials, governance, and compliance history.
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation