PESTLE stands for Political, Economic, Social, Technological, Legal, and Environmental. It is a tool used to analyse external factors that can impact a business or industry. A PESTLE analysis helps identify opportunities and challenges in the wider environment and is often used with other tools like SWOT analysis to support strategic planning.
- Political – government policies, political stability, trade tariffs, and tax regulations.
- Economic – trends in inflation, interest rates, unemployment, exchange rates, and economic growth.
- Social – changes in population, lifestyle, education, culture, and consumer behaviour.
- Technological – innovation, automation, R&D activity, emerging tech, and digital infrastructure.
- Legal – laws that affect business operations, such as employment, safety, consumer rights, and competition.
- Environmental – climate change, sustainability practices, environmental laws, and ecological concerns.
Finding PESTLE resources
-
Business source premier via EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to a broad range of scholarly business journals, country economic reports, and detailed company profiles. Virtually all subject areas related to business are covered, including access to the Harvard Business Review.
-
MarketLine advantage This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth PESTLE insights as part of their country Macroeconomic Outlook Reports. Covers over 50 different countries, as well as company and industry profiles. The search box is set to “All Research” by default. Change this to ‘country & risk reports’ and then type in the country you are researching.
-
Political science subject guideExplore databases that provide foundational insight into government structures, political theory, international relations, and public policy to support analysis of the political environment in PESTLE research.
-
OECD publications This link opens in a new windowProvides economic information for all member countries, and contains reports and statistical data.
-
IBISWorld (Australian content) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to Australian industry reports. Search for industries by keyword(s) or browse a list of industries. Reports include detailed performance data and analysis, supply chain information, forecasts, operating strengths and weaknesses, analysis of external drivers, and industry profit forecasts.
-
Productivity commissionThe Productivity Commission is the Australian Government’s principal review and advisory body on microeconomic policy and regulation. It provides information on current ongoing enquiries, economic news and regulatory reviews.
-
MarketLine advantage This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth PESTLE insights as part of their country Macroeconomic Outlook Reports. Covers over 50 different countries, as well as company and industry profiles. The search box is set to “All Research” by default. Change this to ‘country & risk reports’ and then type in the country you are researching.
-
Passport GMID (Global market information database) This link opens in a new windowProvides market intelligence on industries, consumers and countries. The Economies tab at the top of the Passport homepage provides background information on each country e.g. ease of doing business, government stability etc.
-
Factiva This link opens in a new windowA global news and business information service, with most material available in full text. It has a focus on business, including business news, and company and industry research. Coverage includes articles from trade magazines, newspapers, news wires, press releases, company announcements and journals.
-
APAFT: Australian public affairs (full text) via Informit This link opens in a new windowCovers of Australia's political, economic, social and cultural affairs.
-
Gartner This link opens in a new windowAnalyses and interprets the business activities of technology driven industries and companies.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowCovers the humanities and sciences. Use keyword searches for academic research looking at specific technologies, or particular industries.
-
ProQuest science & technology databases This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the leading journals in science and technology. Covers hundreds of topics relating to all major fields in the applied and general sciences.
-
MarketLine advantage This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth PESTLE insights as part of their country Macroeconomic Outlook Reports. Covers over 50 different countries, as well as company and industry profiles. The search box is set to “All Research” by default. Change this to ‘country & risk reports’ and then type in the country you are researching.
-
Worldwide tax summariesBasic information about corporate taxes and corporate tax laws in various countries published by PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC).
-
Environment complete This link opens in a new windowOffers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
-
Web of science This link opens in a new windowCovers a range of journals from the fields of environmental studies and green sustainable science technology.
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation