Library guides: Grey Literature: Economics & business

Grey literature

Sources of grey literature

Grey literature can also be found in subscription databases in the form of working papers, statistics, company annual reports, conference proceedings and theses. Include library database searches as part of a mixed approach when researching to capture a variety of publications.

Some useful databases for business research include:

IMF eLibrary data This link opens in a new window
Macroeconomic statistics for over 200 countries
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
browse statistics by theme or country or search for specific data by selecting the Statistics tab from the home page.
Business source premier via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Under publication type, there are many types of documents such as working papers and conference proceedings that can be selected.

The Treasury
Covers policy publications and reviews by the treasury department on a range of issues including the economy and international economic policy.
Department of Finance
Documents on the Commonwealth Budget and Economic and Fiscal Outlooks
Office of the Chief Economist
Part of the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science, the Office of the Chief Economist includes analysis and data.
Australian Bureau of Statistics
The ABS produces a range of statistics on National and International Accounts, Consumption and investment, Production, Prices, Incomes and Financial Markets.
Reserve Bank of Australia - Research discussion papers
Research produced by the Reserve Bank of Australia
Productivity Commission
Provides quality, independent advice and information to governments. Browse the Research section for all their publications.

EconPapers
The world's largest collection of on-line Economics working papers, journal articles and software.
EconStor
Open access repository in Economics including working papers and conference proceedings as well as journal articles.
IDEAS (Research Papers in Economics)
Freely available research papers dedicated to Economics. Based on RePEc, this source provides access to over 2,100,000 items of research, including over 1,900,000 papers in full text.
The Economic Society of Australia (ESA)
The Society publishes journals (like the Economic Record and Economic Papers); promotes economic debate in a variety of forums (e.g. the Eminent Speaker Series), and holds conferences and seminars to encourage economic thought.
Institute for International Economics (IIE)
International economic policy research by the Institute’s 50+ internationally recognized experts

SSRN: Social Science Research Network
Open access repository for research and working papers.
Select Browse>>Economics Research Network to find research, policy and Economics conference proceedings.
IDEAS
Open access database dedicated to Economics with working papers and journal article
Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO)
Current and historical policy and reports
World Bank: Open Knowledge Repository
Open access reports from the World Bank. Includes Technical papers and a range of studies covering economic and socioeconomic research
Wharton Financial Institutions Center Working Papers
White papers from leading and emerging scholars with relevance to financial policy and regulation.

Grey Literature

Sources of grey literature

Further support