This page highlights resources to get you started with study and research in languages and linguistics:
Resources for Asian languages
-
China data online This link opens in a new windowThe China Data Center at the University of Michigan is a national center designed to advance the study and understanding of China. Included are national, regional, and local, as well as economic, social, and historical statistics, in addition to census data.
-
Chinese - English dictionary online This link opens in a new windowA useful resource for those reading Chinese texts from the period approx. 500 BCE - 1000 CE. Also a guide for solving problems of interpretation in modern Chinese and Japanese. Includes China encyclopedic reference.
-
KITLV/Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean StudiesThis free web site is an excellent resource for Indonesian history. It provides a digital image library (with images/photographs dating from the mid 19th century) and a catalogue indexing English, Indonesian and Dutch books and scholarly journals.
-
Kodansha encyclopedia of JapanThis nine-volume reference contains over 10,000 articles exploring every aspect of Japanese society, history, politics, economy, thought and culture.
-
An encyclopaedia of Korean culture = Hanʼguk munhwa paekkwa sajŏnThis fully integrated dictionary covers Korean language and culture in English. Covers topics such as language, literature, arts, religion, customs and history
Resources for European languages
-
Cambridge companion to modern French cultureIncludes chapters on history, language, literature, thought, theatre, architecture, visual culture, film and music, and discuss the contributions of popular culture, Francophone culture, minorities and women.
-
The new Oxford companion to literature in FrenchIncludes writers and genres of French literature until WW2. It also covers many aspects of French life and the history of France.
-
Encyclopedia of modern French thoughtGuide to twentieth century French thought. Covers philosophy, literary theory, sociology, linguistics, political thought, theology, and more.
-
French newspapersAccess a comprehensive listing of online newspapers
-
Oxford reference online This link opens in a new windowIncludes more than 100 specialist and general reference dictionaries. It brings together a collection of online dictionaries and thesauri into a single cross-searchable resource.
Resources for interpreting & translation
-
Routledge encyclopedia of translation studiesComprehensive overview of the academic discipline of translation studies
-
National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters (Australia)Australia’s national standards and certifying authority for translators & interpreters.
-
Linguistics and language behavior abstracts via ProQuest This link opens in a new windowIndexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
-
Communication & mass media complete This link opens in a new windowBroad coverage of all media. Includes coverage of performance.
-
MLA international bibliography This link opens in a new windowCovers literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Resources for gesture & sign
-
Linguistics and language behavior abstracts via ProQuest This link opens in a new windowIndexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
-
MLA international bibliography This link opens in a new windowCovers literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowCovers professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes PsycARTICLES and PsycBOOKS from the American Psychological Association (APA).
-
Project muse This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to peer-reviewed journal articles in the social sciences from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
-
Des gestes et des mots pour le direA directory of French gestures and expressions.
-
Auslan signbankAuslan is the language of the deaf community in Australia. Auslan Signbank is a language resources site for Auslan (Australian Sign Language).
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation