These are essential starting points for legal research. They help you:
- Understand the legal framework around a topic
- Identify key legislation and leading cases
- Define unfamiliar legal terms and concepts
Use these starting points early in your research process to build context and confidence before reading cases or legislation.
Where to search
-
Laws of Australia via Westlaw AU This link opens in a new windowA legal encyclopaedia summarising virtually all areas of law in all Australian jurisdictions. The Laws of Australia provides a concise description of each legal principle and references to key cases and legislation. The encyclopaedia is browsable by point of law.
-
Halsbury's laws of Australia via Lexis+ This link opens in a new windowEncyclopaedia providing legal statements to summarise all areas of law in all Australian jurisdictions.
-
Halsbury's Laws of England via Lexis+ This link opens in a new windowLegal encyclopaedia covering the legal principles of England and Wales with annotations, includes both statutory and common law.
-
Corpus juris secundum (CJS) This link opens in a new windowLegal encyclopedia covering all United States federal and state matters.
Note: To access this encyclopedia, open Westlaw International then, in the search box, begin typing Corpus juris secundum until a popup suggests Looking for this? and click on the title. -
Encyclopaedic Australian legal dictionary This link opens in a new windowA dictionary of legal terms and their definitions in an Australian context, supported by Australian legislative and judicial authority.
-
Australian law dictionary (3rd ed) This link opens in a new windowA legal dictionary designed for students, containing concise definitions of Australian legal words and phrases.
Useful tips:
-
Check both encyclopedias – Halsbury’s Laws of Australia and the Laws of Australia are structured differently and may cover topics in more or less detail. Comparing both can give a fuller picture.
- Use the table of contents or browse by topic – encyclopedias are organised systematically. If keyword searching isn’t helpful, try navigating by legal subject.
- Note the currency of entries – some entries may not be up-to-date. Look for dates of last update or review and cross-check key laws in current legislation databases.
- Use linked cases and legislation – these are excellent starting points for deeper research and may lead you to more authoritative sources.
- Start your assignment prep here – encyclopedias are especially useful for breaking down complex legal issues into manageable parts before moving on to journal articles or case law.
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation