Text and data mining (TDM) is permitted in a number of the databases that UNSW Library provides access to for University staff and students.
Please note: Any additional costs charged by the publisher/vendor for TDM will not be paid by the Library.
| Resource | Data Access & Further Information |
|---|---|
|
Information: Institutional License Agreement – This page provides details on TDM for internal, non-commercial research purposes (see clause 4.3.7 & Annex A for specific information). Those needing to use Science.org materials for commercial or external TDM projects should contact the AAAS Licensing Department. Terms of Use: Terms of Use (Science.org) Contact for TDM Questions: scienceonline@aaas.org (AAAS Licensing Department) |
|
| AM Digital (Adam Matthew Digital) |
Information: AM Text and Data Mining - information and permission request. All relevant information regarding text and data mining of AM Digital resources can be found at this page. Terms of Use: Allowances, restrictions, and terms of use. Contact for TDM Questions: AM Digital Support. |
| American Chemical Society |
Information: ACS Text & Data Mining – A page dedicated to TDM at the American Chemical Society Terms of Use: ACS Terms of Use Contact for TDM Questions: acs_pubs_assist@acs.org |
| AustLit |
Information: The UNSW Licence for this resource permits Text and Data Mining for the purposes of research and teaching only. AustLit provide no specific information on their website regarding text and data mining of their resources. For further information, contact AustLit using the email below. Contact for TDM Questions: info-austlit@austlit.edu.au |
| BMJ |
Information: The BMJ Group have a Text and Data Mining (TDM) Policy and Licence which can be found here. Terms of Use: All terms and conditions for TDM can be found here. Contact for TDM questions: support@bmj.com |
| Brill eBooks & Brill Journals |
Information: The UNSW Licence for this resource permits Text and Data Mining for the purposes of research and teaching only. Brill provides no advice regarding text and data mining on their website. For further information contact Brill at the email address below. Terms of Use: Links to permissions can be found here. Contact for TDM questions: rights@brill.com |
| Cambridge Histories Online |
Information: Text & data mining from Cambridge. This page provides information as FAQs on the Cambridge University Press Text and Data Mining conditions. Terms of Use: Terms of use (cambridge.org) Contact for TDM questions: openresearch@cambridge.org |
| Cambridge University Press (CUP) |
Information: The information provided in the section titled “Machine Analysis (Text and Data Mining)” states that any content which users have lawful access to may be used for TDM. It is also noted that “any copies of the Content stored locally by you for the purposes of TDM shall be deleted once such research project ends.” Terms of Use: Cambridge University Press – Terms of Use Contact for TDM questions: All queries regarding text and data mining at CUP should be directed to: openresearch@cambridge.org |
| De Gruyter |
Information: De Gruyter permits text and data mining by authorized users for non-commercial purposes. Terms of Use: The UNSW Licence for this resource permits Text and Data Mining for the purposes of research and teaching only. De Gruyter provides no advice regarding text and data mining on their website. For further information contact De Gruyter at the email address below Contact for TDM Questions: legal@degruyter.com |
|
Elsevier (ScienceDirect, Scopus, Knovel) |
Information: Text and data mining policy - Elsevier. This page provides information on how to register before beginning text mining, and a link to TDM FAQs. Terms of Use: Elsevier Website Terms & Conditions. Contact for TDM Questions: Contact - Permissions Helpdesk Support Center (elsevier.com). Contact Elsevier via their Permissions Helpdesk for TDM questions. |
| Factiva |
Information: Text and data mining is permitted but there is a cost associated with this. Further information can be gained by contacting the publisher. Terms of Use: Terms of Use (See section 2.2[c] for specific statement on Text and Data mining prohibition). Contact for TDM Questions: service@dowjones.com |
| Institute of Civil Engineers (ICE) - Journals |
Information: ICE permits text mining for non-commercial purposes. Terms of Use: The UNSW Licence for this resource permits Text and Data Mining for the purposes of research and teaching only. The Institute of Civil Engineers provides no advice regarding text and data mining on their website. For further information contact ICE at the email address below. Contact for TDM Questions: https://www.ice.org.uk/about-us/contact-us |
| JSTOR |
Information: JSTOR permits text analysis through its in-house text mining tool, Constellate. This tool may be used for non-commercial, internal evaluation, and educational purposes. Terms of Use: https://constellate.org/terms-and-conditions Contact for TDM Questions: constellate@ithaka.org |
| OECD |
Information: The UNSW Licence for this resource permits Text and Data Mining for the purposes of research and teaching only. OECD provides no advice regarding text and data mining on their website. For further information contact OECD at the email address below. Terms of Use: https://www.oecd.org/termsandconditions/ Contact for TDM Questions: https://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/contact |
|
Information: TDM Studio (proquest.com). This site provides information about ProQuest’s product, TDM Studio, which helps make data mining activities more efficient. Terms of Use: Terms of Use (proquest.com). Contact for TDM Questions: Support Center Home (proquest.com)
|
|
|
Information: Data sharing and mining | Royal Society. This page provides information and FAQs about Royal Society’s data sharing and mining regulations. Terms of Use: Terms, conditions and policies | Royal Society Contact for TDM Questions: royalsociety.org/contact-us. Contact Royal Society before you begin text data mining. |
|
|
Information: Text and Data Mining on Sage Journals : Sage Journals (sagepub.com) This page provides information and FAQs about Sage Journals' data sharing and mining regulations. Those uses beyond educational use requires Sage's permission. Contact Sage for more information about text and data mining. Terms of Use: TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF USE OF Sage JOURNALS : Sage Journals (sagepub.com) and Sage Journals Text and Data Mining License Agreement : Sage Journals (sagepub.com). Contact for TDM Questions: onlinesupport@sagepub.co.uk. |
|
| Sage Research Methods |
Information: The UNSW Licence for this resource permits Text and Data Mining for the purposes of education only. Sage Research Methods provides no advice regarding text and data mining on their website. For further information contact Sage Research Methods at the link below. Terms of Use: Sage Research Methods (sagepub.com) Contact for TDM Questions: Sage Research Methods (sagepub.com) |
|
Springer Nature (Palgrave, SpringerMaterials) |
Information: Text and Data Mining | Springer Nature | For Researchers | Springer Nature and Springer’s text- and data-mining policy | Springer — International Publisher. These pages provide information about Springer Nature's text and data mining policies. Terms of Use: Terms and conditions | Legal information | Springer Nature Contact for TDM Questions: dm@springernature.com |
| University of California Press |
Information: The UNSW Licence for this resource permits Text and Data Mining for the purposes of research and education only. University of California Press provide no specific information on their website regarding text and data mining of their resources. For further information, contact University of California Press using the email below. Contact for TDM Questions: permissions@ucpress.edu |
| University of Chicago Press |
Information: The UNSW Licence for this resource permits Text and Data Mining for the purposes of research and education only. University of Chicago Press provide no specific information on their website regarding text and data mining of their resources. For further information, contact University of Chicago Press using the email below. Contact for TDM Questions: custserv@press.uchicago.edu |
| Wiley |
Information: Text and Data Mining Policy - Wiley Online Library. This page outlines Wiley’s text and data mining policy. Terms of Use: The link to Wiley’s Text and Data Mining Agreement can be found here. Contact for TDM Questions: TDM@wiley.com. |