Find key databases for searching journal articles in the social sciences.
Whether you are conducting a literature review or just looking for a few key papers, it is useful to search using specialised databases.
Think about your question
Consider the types of journal articles that would address your research question.
When you are starting out, be sure to plan your search and try some initial, quick searches to get a feel for your topic.
Core databases
-
Social sciences citation index via Web of science This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a comprehensive index of the leading scholarly journals in the social sciences.
-
ProQuest social sciences databases This link opens in a new windowProQuest's Social Sciences databases collection provides comprehensive, global indexing coverage of the scholarly literature in the social sciences, including full-text scholarly journals, and key non-periodical sources such as dissertations and working papers.
-
Social science research network (SSRN) This link opens in a new windowSSRN is composed of a number of specialized research networks in the social sciences. Topics covered by networks include accounting, economics, financial economics, legal scholarship, and management, including negotiation and marketing.
-
Oxford reference online This link opens in a new windowIncludes more than 100 specialist and general reference dictionaries. It brings together a collection of online dictionaries and thesauri into a single cross-searchable resource.
-
Web of science This link opens in a new windowA large multidisciplinary database and citation index with a strong focus on science and technology disciplines. Includes Science citation index 1945+, Social sciences citation index 1956+, Arts & humanities citation index 1975+.
-
APAFT: Australian public affairs (full text) via Informit This link opens in a new windowAn indexing and full-text database that provides journal articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. Full text 1995+
-
Factiva This link opens in a new windowA global news and business information service, with most material available in full text. It has a focus on business, including business news, and company and industry research. Coverage includes articles from trade magazines, newspapers, news wires, press releases, company announcements and journals.
-
ProQuest databases This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage of sociology and sociological issues.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowBroad coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature, including peer-reviewed journals and citation index from a wide range of international publishers.
Research design
If you're conducting research in any of the social sciences fields, SAGE Research Methods provides the most comprehensive picture available today of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioural sciences.
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation