Aerospace engineering focuses on the design, development on the design, development and testing of flight vehicles and their systems. Research in this field often draws from mechanical, electrical, and materials engineering, as well as physics and computer science. The resources below provide access to journal articles, conference papers, standards, and technical reports relevant to this field.
Tips:
- Start with engineering core databases for broad coverage, then use specific resources for more in-depth coverage.
- Use technical terms – aerospace research often uses specific terminology.
- Check for standards – aerospace engineering relies heavily on standards.
- Explore conference papers – many innovations are first presented at conferences.
Resources
-
Aerospace database via ProQuest science & technology This link opens in a new windowProvides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics and space sciences. Produced by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics and NASA.
-
ARC | Aerospace research central This link opens in a new windowThe database of the AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics). Publishes around 4000 technical and meeting papers annually.
-
SAE Mobilus - technical papers This link opens in a new windowReferences thousands of SAE Technical Papers (full text availability from 1906) and SAE Standards (bibliographic references only, not full text).
-
ESDU - Engineering Sciences Data Unit This link opens in a new windowESDU International provides validated engineering methods, data, principles, worked examples, programs, and related equations on over 1,200 specific aerospace, process, structural, and mechanical engineering topics.
-
Jane's aerospace, defence & security This link opens in a new windowA leading defence and security intelligence database providing detailed information on global aerospace, aviation, and military systems. Includes technical specifications, market forecasts, risk assessments, and analysis of civil and defence aviation industries.
-
NASA Technical Reports ServerNASA Technical Reports Server provides access to metadata records, full-text documents, and videos covering aeronautics, exploration systems, science, space operations, and space technology.
Find related books
Check the UNSW Library collection for books on Aerospace engineering
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation