The Library provides access to many medical textbooks and reference works via eBook platforms.
Some of these platforms offer additional study resources, videos and clinical information.
Textbooks, videos and reference resources
Read the descriptions below to learn about the available resources:
-
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowOnline medical resource updated daily by the world’s leading experts in their fields, covering: basic science, clinical science and clinical medicine. Includes clerkship topics, review questions and flashcards, as well as cases, procedural videos and key textbooks.
-
ClinicalKey student This link opens in a new windowAn interactive medical learning platform that includes textbooks, disease summaries, a variety of videos and personalised quiz functionality.
-
BMJ Best practice This link opens in a new windowClinical decision support tool updated daily with evidence-based methods and expert opinion. Includes clinical summaries, procedural videos, calculators, treatment algorithms and more.
-
Ovid eBooks This link opens in a new windowCollection of full text electronic books and multimedia on various medical topics.
-
JoVE This link opens in a new windowA video library dedicated to teaching the practice and theory of scientific experiments. See 'Clinical Skills' for videos related to clinical procedures.
-
New England Journal of MedicineThe 'Videos in Clinical Medicine' section of the New England Journal of Medicine provides a range of videos on various aspects of clinical medicine. The NEJM group YouTube channel also includes quick, helpful videos.
-
Psychiatry online This link opens in a new windowA searchable collection of psychiatric reference resources, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools. It includes the full text of DSM-5, APA Practice guidelines and the APP textbook of psychiatry.
-
Counseling and therapy videos via Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new windowA collection of online video recordings for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counselling. The link will take you to home page, you can locate the title in My Collections.
Books for medicine and health
- Find the recommended textbooks for your course in your Moodle dashboard
- Find other books related to medicine and life sciences by searching in Library collection
- Use subject dictionaries for definitions. E.g. Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary
- Use subject encyclopedias for more in-depth explanations. E.g. the Encyclopedia of cell biology
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation