Connect to reliable drug reference resources to find information on medicines in Australia and internationally.
Verify across sources
Medicines information is vast and constantly evolving. Consulting multiple sources that are high-quality and up-to-date will ensure the information you gather is accurate and relevant to your question.
Australian resources
-
eMIMS This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive and authoritative pharmaceutical database. eMIMs provides detailed information about prescription and non-prescription medications, enabling healthcare professionals to keep up to date with changes in medicines listings, new launches of medicines and current PBS data. Includes the Don't Rush to Crush module, product images and consumer medicines information.
-
Australian medicines handbookAn independent, evidence-based guide for drugs currently marketed in Australia. Information is provided in therapeutic chapters, including practice points and comparisons between drug classes. Includes the AMH Aged Care Companion and Children's Dosing Companion. The AMH is published on behalf of three respected Australian professional organisations.
-
Therapeutic Guidelines This link opens in a new windowIndependent, evidence-based and practical point-of-care treatment advice for the management of patients with specific conditions. Covers a wide range of clinical topics, offering guidance on both drug and non-drug interventions.
-
NPS MedicineWiseIncludes evidence-based information for consumers and health professionals. The National Prescribing Service supports quality use of medicines to improve health decisions and health and economic outcomes in Australia.
Therapuetic guidelines updates
Discover what’s new in the latest update to Therapeutic Guidelines: Antibiotic
International resources
-
MedicinesComplete This link opens in a new windowCompiles major pharmacy handbooks such as Pharmaceutical Excipients, Martindale, Stockley's Drug Interactions, Herbal Medicines and Dietary Supplements.
-
British pharmacopoeia This link opens in a new windowA six-volume leading reference tool for medicines and healthcare research & development and contains an extensive collection of authoritative official standards for UK pharmaceutical substances and medicinal products.
-
USP-NF This link opens in a new windowA combination of the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). USP-NF contains standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, biologics, compounded preparations, medical devices, dietary supplements, and other therapeutics.
-
BMJ Best practice This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wide range of medical decision-support information including diagnoses, diagnostic tests, and diagnostic and treatment guidelines.
Related organisations
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation