Evidence-based medicine is about making use of the best available information to answer questions in clinical practice.
These resources help students understand the practice of evidence-based medicine.
Understanding evidence-based medicine
-
BMJ Best practice This link opens in a new windowIncludes an Evidence Based Medicine Toolkit to assist with key EBM methods - access via 'Evidence resources' under 'Your profile'.
-
CIAP EBP learning modulesEBP module provided by the NSW Health Clinical Information Access Portal (CIAP).
-
Duke University EBP tutorialThis program was developed by the Medical Center Library at Duke University and the Health Sciences Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
-
Students 4 Best Evidence (S4BE)A community for students, by students, who are interested in evidence-based health care. Supported by Cochrane UK.
-
Evidence-based practice in OptometryThis UNSW site has been designed for students develop their understanding of EBP in Optometry.
-
Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine - Study designsThis short article gives a brief guide to the different study types and a comparison of the advantages and disadvantages.
-
How to read a paperLinks to articles in the BMJ that explain how to read and interpret different kinds of research papers.
-
SAGE research methods online This link opens in a new windowA searching tool that links together research methods content from SAGE’s dictionaries, encyclopedias, books, journals and videos.
Databases for evidence-based resources
See core databases for places to search for evidence to address your clinical question.
Evidence-based databases such as the ones below enable you to locate secondary pre-appraised research.
-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Cochrane database of systematic reviews, prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration.
-
EBM reviews This link opens in a new windowAllows you to search simultaneously across seven Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases, including Cochrane database of systematic reviews and the ACP Journal Club.
-
PubMed clinical queriesThis tool uses predefined filters to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics.
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation