This page includes useful clinical resources for medical students during university and beyond into their professional careers.
Useful resources for clinical practice
Point of care tools provide evidence-based information to support clinical decision making:
-
BMJ Best practice This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wide range of medical decision-support information including diagnoses, diagnostic tests, and diagnostic and treatment guidelines.
-
BMJ learning This link opens in a new windowOffers continuing medical education modules for healthcare professionals and students.
-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration. Includes the Cochrane database of systematic reviews, as well as digestible summaries of reviews in Cochrane Clinical Answers.
-
Therapeutic Guidelines This link opens in a new windowIndependent, evidence-based and practical point-of-care treatment advice for the management of patients with specific conditions. Covers a wide range of clinical topics, offering guidance on both drug and non-drug interventions.
-
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowOnline medical resource updated daily by the world’s leading experts in their fields. Includes cases, procedural videos and quick reference resources such as 2 Minute Medicine.
-
PubMed clinical queriesThis tool uses predefined filters to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics.
Clinical guidelines are evidence-based recommendations for the care of patients with specific conditions.
You can find guidelines using the core databases in health, by limiting your search using publication type.
Listed below are examples of other sources of clinical guidelines:
Specific publishers
-
RACGP | Clinical guidelinesThe Royal Australian College of General Practitioners is the professional organisation that focuses on the safety and quality of general practice. The RACGP endorses a wide range of guidelines to assist general practitioners in their work.
-
NHMRC | GuidelinesThe National Health and Medical Research Council guidelines to health.
-
Cancer Council | Clinical guidelinesThe Australian Cancer Network and NHMRC have developed these clinical practice guidelines for the prevention and diagnosis of cancer and treatment of care of patients.
-
Therapeutic Guidelines This link opens in a new windowIndependent, evidence-based and practical point-of-care treatment advice for the management of patients with specific conditions. Covers a wide range of clinical topics, offering guidance on both drug and non-drug interventions.
-
NICE (National Institute for Health Care and Excellence)Recommendations on the appropriate treatment and care of people with specific diseases and conditions within the NHS in the UK.
Collections
-
International guidelines libraryContains guidelines from across the globe in many languages, both published and in development.
-
BMJ Best practice This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wide range of medical decision-support information including diagnoses, diagnostic tests, and diagnostic and treatment guidelines.
Organisations and professional associations often produce high quality information including reports, clinical guidelines and patient information.
Examples of some high quality information providers on the internet:
- Healthdirect
- NSW Health
- NHMRC (National Health and Medical Research Council)
- Specialist Colleges e.g. RACGP (Royal Australian College of General Practitioners)
- AIHW (Australian Institute of Health and Welfare)
- CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
- WHO (World Health Organisation)
- NIH (U.S. National Institutes of Health)
- Mayo Clinic
Ensure you use internet resources produced by trustworthy sources.
Drug information resources
For reliable medicines information to assist with clinical practice, see Drug information.
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation