Find key databases to search for journal articles in medicine and health.
Whether you are conducting a literature review, or just looking for a few key papers, it is useful to search using databases that are designed for medical research.
Think about your question
Consider the types of journal articles that would address your research question.
When you are starting out, be sure to plan your search and try some initial, quick searches to get a feel for your topic.
Core databases for health topics
Your choice of database depends on your topic area and the scope of your project.
Explore the tabs below for relevant databases to search:
For topics related to medicine & health, consider searching PubMed and EMBASE, which are two key biomedical databases. These databases are a great starting point for your search.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowWidely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. Includes MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
-
EMBASE This link opens in a new windowThis major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexes international journals in the following relevant fields: drug research, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, and public health.
Step-by-step guidance
Watch these videos to learn about searching in PubMed and EMBASE:
If your topic relates to allied health literature, consider searching CINAHL, which is a major database for nursing and allied health disciplines.
-
CINAHL: cumulative index to nursing and allied health literature This link opens in a new windowThe definitive reference tool covering journal literature for nursing and allied health disciplines.
-
PEDro: physiotherapy evidence database This link opens in a new windowA free resource providing bibliographic information of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
PsycINFO is a key database in the field of psychology, and can be useful for topics in medicine and health that relate to human behaviour. More psychology-related resources can be found in the Psychology guide.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowCovers professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes PsycARTICLES and PsycBOOKS from the American Psychological Association (APA).
Step-by-step guidance
Watch these videos to learn about searching in psycINFO:
Depending on your topic, you may also like to explore additional, interdisciplinary databases.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowBroad coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature, including peer-reviewed journals and citation index from a wide range of international publishers.
-
Web of science This link opens in a new windowA large multidisciplinary database and citation index with a strong focus on science and technology disciplines. Includes Science citation index 1945+, Social sciences citation index 1956+, Arts & humanities citation index 1975+.
-
Informit database collections This link opens in a new windowCollection of authoritative Australasian content including core research and professional resources.
-
ProQuest databases This link opens in a new windowCovers a range of subject and discipline areas including topics in medicine. Databases can be searched individually or concurrently.
Interdisciplinary topics
If your research topic spans across several disciplines and you aim to be thorough, it may be helpful to explore resources from other Subject guides. For example:
Conducting a literature review?
See Literature reviews for tips on searching comprehensively.
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation