Aviation is an interdisciplinary field encompassing aeronautical engineering, safety science, human factors, and operational management. Academic research in aviation draws on both the natural sciences and the social sciences, integrating perspectives from engineering, environmental science, business, and psychology.
Resources for aviation
To search for journal articles related to aviation, start with the core databases in science.
Listed below are additional resources you can consider for specialised information such as business and psychology.
-
Aerospace database via ProQuest science & technology This link opens in a new windowProvides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics and space sciences. Produced by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics and NASA.
-
ARC | Aerospace research central This link opens in a new windowThe database of the AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics). Publishes around 4000 technical and meeting papers annually.
-
Business source premier via EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to a broad range of scholarly business journals, country economic reports, and detailed company profiles. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. Note: Company SWOT analyses can be found by searching under a company name and the term SWOT e.g. American Express SWOT.
-
Emerald This link opens in a new windowA powerful business research tool. Provides strong coverage of international management and information technology content. 1994+
-
Sage business cases This link opens in a new windowCurated interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowCovers professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes PsycARTICLES and PsycBOOKS from the American Psychological Association (APA).
-
Transport research international documentation (TRID)The TRID Database contains more than 1.3 million records of references to books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and journal articles in the field of transportation research.
-
Jane's aerospace, defence & security This link opens in a new windowA leading defence and security intelligence database providing detailed information on global aerospace, aviation, and military systems. Includes technical specifications, market forecasts, risk assessments, and analysis of civil and defence aviation industries. Particularly valuable for research on aircraft capabilities, aerospace technology trends, and the global aviation supply chain.
Australia
-
Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA)Official safety regulations, licensing requirements, and operational guidelines for Australian aviation. Includes accident investigation summaries and safety promotion materials.
-
Bureau of Infrastructure and Transport Research Economics (BITRE)Statistical datasets, policy reports, and economic analyses covering passenger movements, airline performance, and industry trends.
International
-
European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA)Regulatory guidance, certification requirements, and research on emerging technologies, airworthiness, and environmental impact.
-
International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO)A UN specialised agency responsible for setting global aviation standards and regulations. Includes access to policy frameworks, technical manuals, and research on sustainable aviation development.
-
UK Civil Aviation Authority (CAA)Regulatory framework, airspace management policies, and aviation safety data. Includes market analyses and consumer protection resources.
-
UK Air Accidents Investigation Branch (AAIB)Detailed technical investigation reports of aviation accidents and serious incidents, with analysis and recommendations for safety improvements.
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation