This page highlights key resources for chemical and biomedical engineering. Use this page to find reliable academic resources for your coursework, projects, and research.
Tips
- Start with core databases for essential resources used across all areas of engineering.
- Check standards & patents for safety and process compliance information.
Resources for chemical engineering
Chemical engineering focuses on the design, optimisation, and operation of processes that transform raw materials into valuable products. This includes energy, materials, environmental processes, and industrial systems.
-
Reaxys This link opens in a new windowAn excellent source for experimentally validated reactions and substance data. The synthesis planner assists with the evaluation of alternative synthetic methods for the preparation of compounds and allows chemists to identify and combine selected reaction steps. Incorporates Beilstein & Gmelin. Reaxys tutorials and guides
-
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive resource for chemistry and related disciplines. Produced by the American Chemical Society. 1907+ SciFinder tutorials and guides
-
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Chemistry WebBookProvides thermochemical, thermophysical, and spectroscopic data for thousands of chemical compounds. Ideal for quickly checking properties such as boiling points, enthalpy, or IR spectra.
-
PubChemIncludes chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and more.
-
Science.govGateway to U.S. government science information. Offers free access to research and development outputs and scientific and technical information. Includes access to research data.
Resources for biomedical engineering
Biomedical engineering applies engineering principles to healthcare, focusing on the design of medical devices, imaging technologies, biomaterials, and systems that improve human health.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowWidely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. Includes MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
-
EMBASE This link opens in a new windowThis major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexes international journals in the following relevant fields: drug research, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, and public health.
-
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowA powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. Provides full-text access to IEEE journals, transactions, standards and conferences.
-
BioRxivOpen access to unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
-
ClinicalTrials.govGlobal registry of clinical trials. Useful for finding studies on new biomedical devices, diagnostics or interventions.
-
WHO | Global Health ObservatoryA portal to international health statistics and indicators, helpful for contextualising biomedical engineering innovations in public health settings.
Search effectively
Combine medical subject headings with engineering keywords when searching PubMed or Embase for more precise results. Find out how in the comprehensive searching guide.
Explore related guides
If your research topic spans several disciplines and you aim to be thorough, it may be helpful to explore related resources from other Subject guides. For research in engineering, the related guides below may be useful:
Find related books
Check the UNSW Library collection for books on:
For other engineering handbooks: Knovel eBook Collections
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation