Core databases are essential tools for finding high-quality academic literature, including journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, and standards. These databases cover a broad range of engineering disciplines and are ideal starting points for any research project, literature review, or assignment.
Think about your question
- Consider the types of journal articles that would address your research question.
- When you are starting out, be sure to plan your search and try some initial, quick searches to get a feel for your topic.
- Start broad, then narrow your search to get more focussed results.
- Track citations forwards and backwards to follow research conversations and use related articles features to find other relevant papers.
Core databases
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowBroad coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature, including peer-reviewed journals and citation index from a wide range of international publishers.
-
Web of science This link opens in a new windowA large multidisciplinary database and citation index with a strong focus on science and technology disciplines. Includes Science citation index 1945+, Social sciences citation index 1956+, Arts & humanities citation index 1975+.
-
ProQuest science & technology databases This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the leading journals in science and technology. Covers hundreds of topics relating to all major fields in the applied and general sciences.
-
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of multidisciplinary engineering content. It is derived from a selection of more than 250 engineering monographs, and textbooks and complete online access to McGraw-Hill’s renowned engineering handbooks.
-
ENGnetBASE This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to hundreds of full-text Engineering Handbooks covering all fields of Engineering including Computer Engineering and Systems Engineering.
-
Informit database collections This link opens in a new windowCollection of authoritative Australasian content including core research and professional resources.
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation