Looking for research related to energy resources and photovoltaics? Use key databases and other resources to find relevant journal articles, standards, technical reports, datasets and policy documents. These listed resources relate to minerals and mining, petroleum and energy resources, as well as photovoltaics and renewable energy.
Tips
- Start with core databases for essential resources used across all areas of engineering.
- Check standards & patents for safety and process compliance information.
Databases
-
OneMine: the online global mining and minerals library This link opens in a new windowA collaborative effort among multiple societies to place the world's most comprehensive collection of mining and minerals based research in one place. This online collection includes technical documents, conference papers, articles, pre-prints and late papers. The database consists of more than 90,000 documents, including over 12,000 documents from AusIMM.
-
OnePetro This link opens in a new windowA multi-society library that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. The database includes full text from numerous organisations, including the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE).
-
GeoRef This link opens in a new windowProvides access to geosciences literature covering the geology of North America from 1666 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey
-
Environment complete This link opens in a new windowDatabase covering all areas of environmental sciences including ecology, climate change, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, pollution & waste management, environmental law and policy and more.
Additional resources
The resources below provide access to a wide range of specialised information, datasets, policies, and other relevant information.
-
DIGS: digital imaging of geological systemIncludes full text exploration reports, cartographic, geological and topographic maps, plus documents and publications produced by the New South Wales Department of Primary Industries (Mineral Resources).
-
International Energy Agency (IEA) Data & StatisticsAccess to global energy statistics and policy insights. Includes datasets on energy production, consumption, prices, efficiency and renewable energy adoption. Valuable for benchmarking and trend analysis in energy systems, renewables and policy research.
-
The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)Comprehensive data, maps, and scientific reports from the U.S. Geological Survey covering global and U.S. energy and mineral resources. Includes information on reserves, production, exploration, environmental impact, and critical minerals.
-
Geoscience AustraliaThe national geoscience agency, providing geological maps, mineral resources data, and earthquake monitoring.
-
World Bank Data | Section on healthDevelopment data covering health systems, disease prevention, reproductive health, nutrition, and population dynamics.
-
International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) Knowledge HubGlobal resource on renewable energy statistics, policy briefs, technology reports, and country-level data on solar, wind, or emerging renewable technologies and policy frameworks.
-
Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ARENA)An open-source library of reports, studies, multimedia and tools on renewable energy projects.
Find related books
Check the UNSW Library collection for books on: Energy engineering
For other engineering handbooks and data: Knovel eBook Collections
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation