Civil and environmental engineering are closely related disciplines but differ in focus. This page highlights key resources to help you find scholarly research, and technical information in these fields.
Tips
Start with core databases for essential resources used across all areas of engineering.
Civil engineering
Civil engineering is primarily concerned with the design, construction, and maintenance of infrastructure such as roads, bridges, and buildings.
-
ASCE research library (American Society of Civil Engineers) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. Provides full-text access to papers from ASCE Journals and Proceedings.
-
ESDU - Engineering Sciences Data Unit This link opens in a new windowESDU International provide validated engineering design data, methods and associated software for the engineer. It provides validated engineering methods, data, principles, worked examples, programs, and related equations on over 1,200 specific aerospace, process, structural, and mechanical engineering topics., Engineering Sciences Data Unit. Includes ESDU ASTEROID a drag calculation tool that allows for validated surface tolerance drag calculations, and design data for specific aircraft is included.
-
Emerald engineering This link opens in a new windowOnline, comprehensive and focused information resource for engineers in four major disciplines, Advanced Automation; Computational Mathematics; Electronics Manufacture and Packaging; and Materials Science and Engineering
-
Austroads Publications Online This link opens in a new windowAustroads online publications provides access to a large range of technical and research reports, includes guides to Road Design , Road Safety, Road Transport Planning, Asset Management, Bridge Technology, Pavement Technology, Project Delivery and Evaluation, and Traffic Management.
Environmental engineering
Environmental engineering focuses on protecting and improving the natural environment through sustainable solutions in areas like water treatment, pollution control, and waste management.
-
Environment complete This link opens in a new windowDatabase covering all areas of environmental sciences including ecology, climate change, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, pollution & waste management, environmental law and policy and more.
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowOffers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
-
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive resource for chemistry and related disciplines. Produced by the American Chemical Society. 1907+ SciFinder tutorials and guides
-
GeoRef This link opens in a new windowProvides access to geosciences literature covering the geology of North America from 1666 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey
-
UN Environment ProgrammeAccess to reports, data sets, policy briefs, and assessments on topics such as climate change, biodiversity, pollution, and sustainable development.
Explore related guides
If your research topic spans several disciplines and you aim to be thorough, it may be helpful to explore related resources from other Subject guides. For research in engineering, the related guides below may be useful:
Find related books
Check the UNSW Library collection for books on:
For other engineering handbooks and data: Knovel eBook Collections
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation