This page brings together databases, specialist resources, books, and tips to help you locate high-quality information in mechanical and manufacturing engineering.
- Mechanical engineering covers the design, analysis and maintenance of machines, energy systems, materials and structures. Use the resources below to find scholarly articles, standards and data to support your studies and research.
- Manufacturing engineering focuses on processes, systems and management of production. It overlaps with business and supply chain management.
Useful tips:
- Start with core databases for essential resources used across all areas of engineering.
- Combine engineering databases with business/management databases to get both the technical and operational sides of your topic.
- ArXiv provides access to preprints, which are useful to see the most up to date research developments.
Mechanical & manufacturing engineering databases
-
SAE Mobilus - technical papers This link opens in a new windowReferences thousands of SAE Technical Papers (full text availability from 1906) and SAE Standards (bibliographic references only, not full text).
-
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowA powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. Provides full-text access to IEEE journals, transactions, standards and conferences.
-
SPIE digital library This link opens in a new windowExtensive resource on optics and photonics, providing access to technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings.
-
ARC | Aerospace research central This link opens in a new windowThe database of the AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics). Publishes around 4000 technical and meeting papers annually.
-
Business source premier via EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to a broad range of scholarly business journals, country economic reports, and detailed company profiles. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. Note: Company SWOT analyses can be found by searching under a company name and the term SWOT e.g. American Express SWOT.
-
Emerald This link opens in a new windowA powerful business research tool. Provides strong coverage of international management and information technology content. 1994+
-
ArXiv This link opens in a new windowOpen access to resources within the areas of Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics.
Explore related guides
If your research topic spans across several disciplines and you aim to be thorough, it may be helpful to explore related resources from other Subject guides. For research in engineering, the related guides below may be useful:
Find related books
Check the UNSW Library collection for books on:
For other engineering handbooks and data: Knovel eBook Collections
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation