Library guides: Medicine &amp; health: Pharmacy, pharmacology & pharmaceutical medicine

Key resources

Australian drug resources

eMIMS This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive and authoritative pharmaceutical database. eMIMs provides detailed information about prescription and non-prescription medications, enabling healthcare professionals to keep up to date with changes in medicines listings, new launches of medicines and current PBS data. Includes the Don't Rush to Crush module, product images and consumer medicines information.

Australian medicines handbook
An independent, evidence-based guide for drugs currently marketed in Australia. Information is provided in therapeutic chapters, including practice points and comparisons between drug classes. Includes the AMH Aged Care Companion and Children's Dosing Companion. The AMH is published on behalf of three respected Australian professional organisations.

Therapeutic Guidelines This link opens in a new window
Independent, evidence-based and practical point-of-care treatment advice for the management of patients with specific conditions. Covers a wide range of clinical topics, offering guidance on both drug and non-drug interventions.

NPS MedicineWise
Includes evidence-based information for consumers and health professionals. The National Prescribing Service supports quality use of medicines to improve health decisions and health and economic outcomes in Australia.

International drug resources

MedicinesComplete This link opens in a new window
Online versions of major pharmacy handbooks such as Pharmaceutical Excipients, Martindale, Herbal Medicines and Stockley's Drug Interactions.
British pharmacopoeia This link opens in a new window
A six-volume leading reference tool for medicines and healthcare research & development and contains an extensive collection of authoritative official standards for UK pharmaceutical substances and medicinal products.
USP-NF This link opens in a new window
A combination of the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). USP-NF contains standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, biologics, compounded preparations, medical devices, dietary supplements, and other therapeutics.
BMJ Best practice This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of medical decision-support information including diagnoses, diagnostic tests, and diagnostic and treatment guidelines.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive resource for chemistry and related disciplines. Produced by the American Chemical Society. 1907+ SciFinder tutorials and guides
Springer nature experiments This link opens in a new window
An online database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the biomedical and life sciences. Previously named Springer Protocols

PubChem
Includes chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and more.

EMBASE This link opens in a new window
This major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexes international journals in the following relevant fields: drug research, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, and public health.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. Includes MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
CINAHL: cumulative index to nursing and allied health literature This link opens in a new window
The definitive reference tool covering journal literature for nursing and allied health disciplines.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature, including peer-reviewed journals and citation index from a wide range of international publishers.
Web of science This link opens in a new window
A large multidisciplinary database and citation index with a strong focus on science and technology disciplines. Includes Science citation index 1945+, Social sciences citation index 1956+, Arts & humanities citation index 1975+.