Library guides: Searching in Science: Biological, marine & environmental

Start here to find resources that support research in biological sciences, marine science, and environmental science.

Databases

BIOSIS previews (1926 - 2019)
Provides International coverage of the literature of the life sciences, including biology, botany, ecology, zoology, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics and genomics.
Zoological record (1864 - 2020)
Comprehensive database covering all aspects of animal biology including ecology, conservation, taxonomy, behaviour, reproduction, morphology and evolution. Includes content from books, reviews, conference proceedings, reports and over 5,000 academic journals.
GreenFILE
Offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
Environment complete
Database covering all areas of environmental sciences including ecology, climate change, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, pollution & waste management, environmental law and policy and more.
Informit database collections
Collection of authoritative Australasian content including core research and professional resources.

The resources below provide access to a wide range of specialised information, datasets, species records, and other relevant information.

Atlas of living Australia
Australia’s national biodiversity database. It provides species occurrence records, ecological data, maps, and tools for analysing biodiversity trends.
Ocean biodiversity information system (OBIS)
A global open-access database of marine biodiversity records, ocean biodiversity mapping, and ecological datasets to support research in marine biology and environmental sciences.
CSIRO data portal
Provides access to research data, software and other digital assets published by CSIRO across a range of disciplines.
FishBase
A comprehensive global database of fish species, providing scientific and common names, taxonomy, distribution, habitat, life-history traits, population information, and references.
SeaLifeBase
A global open-access database providing detailed taxonomic, distributional and ecological information on marine species other than finfish. Includes data on invertebrates, marine plants, non-fish vertebrates and more.
Global biodiversity information facility
An international open-access database of species occurrence data, contributed by institutions worldwide.

Check the UNSW Library collection for books on:

For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat

Or visit us at the Library Help Zone

UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation