Discover key resources to support your research in geology and geography.
Tips
Start with the science core databases for commonly used resources, then build on your search by exploring databases focused on geography and geology.
Resources for geology
Geology is the study of Earth’s physical structure, its history, and the processes that shape it. The resources below will help you find scholarly articles, maps, data, and background materials to support your studies and research.
-
GeoRef This link opens in a new windowProvides access to geosciences literature covering the geology of North America from 1666 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey
-
DIGS: digital imaging of geological systemIncludes full text exploration reports, cartographic, geological and topographic maps, plus documents and publications produced by the New South Wales Department of Primary Industries (Mineral Resources).
-
Geoscience AustraliaThe national geoscience agency, providing geological maps, mineral resources data, and earthquake monitoring.
-
EarthChemOffers access to geochemical data collections, analytical tools, and teaching resources.
Find related books
Check the UNSW Library collection for books on geology.
Resources for geography
Geography examines the physical features of Earth and the human processes that shape our interaction with environments. It includes both physical geography (climate, landforms, ecosystems) and human geography (population, urbanisation, migration, development).
-
Environment complete This link opens in a new windowDatabase covering all areas of environmental sciences including ecology, climate change, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, pollution & waste management, environmental law and policy and more.
-
Informit database collections This link opens in a new windowCollection of authoritative Australasian content including core research and professional resources.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowCovers professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes PsycARTICLES and PsycBOOKS from the American Psychological Association (APA).
-
Nearmap This link opens in a new windowConsists of high quality PhotoMaps over Australian cities and towns that are updated monthly.
-
Digital atlas of AustraliaA platform to explore, analyse, and visualise data on Australia's geography, economy, people, and environment.
-
Our world in dataAn open-access collection of global datasets on environment, climate, demographics, and economics.
Find related books
Check the UNSW Library collection for books on geography.
Looking for more help with searching?
For quick help, you can get in touch via Library Chat
Or visit us at the Library Help Zone
UNSW staff, postgraduate and honours students can book a Research consultation